Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
The Poetry of Birds
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 August 2012
If you love birds and like poetry then this book is for you.It is high on my list of favourites and provides me with hours of pleasure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2016
Superb selection. Underpinned by the bird poet extraordinaire John Clare's wonderful observational work, Tim Dee and Simon Armitage choose a selection of variety and popularity to please poetry fan and ornithologist alike
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
A superb anthology of bird poetry, arranged (mostly) by subject. There are many old friends and even more new discoveries. No bells and whistles in what is a simple production, but one to treasure for its content.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2014
As a birder and fan of poetry this was always going to be right up my street. There are some good works within and the birder in me appreciates the attempt to organise the poems systematically.

Agree with the other reviewer that some illustrations would be nice but I don't think their absence really detracts from the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2012
This is a wonderful collection living up to all the reviews and blurbs but not on Kindle. Having bought it and downloaded it to my Kindle I have now bought the paperback in order to read it with ease. For some reason all the poems in the Kindle edition have been centred, which is not how they were written and make the book very difficult to read. I presume this format was chosen by the publisher, Penguin, because other poetry on Kindle is better formatted. It is not possible on Kindle to number the pages or index them to make sense, but this book needs all that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2015
If you're interested in our feathered friends, this is the poetry collection for you. Read a poem a day and be inspired, a life-affirming experience for all arm-chair twitchers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2014
If you love poetry and love birds what could be better? A perfect combination and perfect present too.
St Mary's Books and Prints
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
Lovely poems through the ages, both well-known and obscure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2013
Though I agree with all the praise of this book in the other reviews, I do feel it's also a bit of a disappointment, too.

The beautifully illustrated jacket is a big draw, and the inner printed contents are pleasing and plentiful - except that a chance was missed to complete to pleasures with a few colour illustrations. There are two b/w line drawings in one poem ("Mr and Mrs Spikky Sparrow" - !) but that's it for illustrations, book-wide.

Yes, it may have cost a bit more, but for a book like this - we'd pay it, I'm sure.

So - I'll have to content myself with using my lovely colourful "bird" bookmark instead, as I enjoy the contents.

So near ... but so far.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2014
I was about to buy this then didn't as when I looked through the preview pages I realised that there were virtually no illustrations. I had assumed that each poem would be accompanied by a photograph or other illustration of the bird being written about, but this is NOT the case. A non expert will have to find other ways of comparing the poetry to the bird described; I feel very disappointed by this. It is a collection of poems about birds but does not have the practical information which I expected when I saw that a birdwatching expert was involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse