Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
271
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2016
The most important book in the disruptive occupation of Africa by Europeans, and candid account of African traditions and beliefs
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
I liked this book because it left me room to think about it. It didn't try to teach me anything, but there was a plethora of food for thought, and a chance to make something of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
A fantastic read and the story told is so vivid that putting down the book was a challenge.
Simply an imaginative book by a great African writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2016
Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart uniquely transcends its reader to a whole new world, and offers an invitation to an awakened imagination. Centered around Okonkwo - a wrestling champion and acclaimed warrior of Umuofia - the book sheds light on the value of Igbo culture, beliefs and traditions, and the historical dependence on deism and religion as a determinant of fate. Achebe delves into precolonial Igboland, using proverbs, folklore and the Igbo language to highlight indigenous social and cultural norms. The author subtly renders the conception of colonialism as an extension of enlightenment and revolution as a fallacy, and though imperfect, illustrates a demise in the system of self governance and the use of Igbo language, following the invasion of European missionaries and governments.

Wherever possible, Okonkwo never failed to seize the opportunity to express his masculinity. Through the village fights, meetings with the elders and interactions with his family members, the preservation of his tough, manly, undefeated and fearless figure was of paramount importance. So much so that he coldly murdered Ikemefuna - who looked up to him as a father - just to protect this ‘masculine’ image. The irony in Okonkwo’s story is the fact that the display of masculinity and the desire to be feared and respected was an exhibition of a different form of fear in itself. That is, the fear of being anything close to the legacy of his late father - lazy, weak, and in turn, feminine. The need to dissociate himself from his father, Unoka, was the bane of Okonkwo’s existence and simultaneously, the shovel for which Okonkwo dug his grave.

The desire to be alienated from the negative legacy of his father is however not synonymous to Okonkwo. It is an innate feature that unconsciously drives majority of people, especially young people. The fear of failing or mirroring the thing(s) loathed in familial relationships, unbeknownst to us, shapes our decisions, and who we strive to be. This, from conversations engaged in with young people, is increasingly apparent in the Nigerian society today. Particularly in broken homes, the residual bitterness that lingers often lays a foundation; for which many tend to build glass houses out of, in the bid to refute certain characteristics of their parent(s).

Conversely, the fear of not living up to one’s parent’s legacy likewise shapes us, and influences the standards we set for ourselves. They redefine our idea of success, and remind us that failure - at any stage in life - is certainly not an option. Equivocally, the fear of failing to walk in - or perhaps, create bigger - footprints of one’s parent often subconsciously becomes one’s biggest conquest in life. Similar to Okonkwo, one is clothed with societal pressure, and the need for recognition and status; armed with the sword of parental burdens, expectations, inadequacies and responsibilities; perpetually fighting to break free from the shadow of the legacy of their parent(s).

---
To be considered more of a man - because possessing male genital organs is simply insufficient in Nigeria - one’s assets as well as the number of wives, especially in the precolonial and traditionalist setting, spoke volumes. Mutually non-exclusive, the more wealth and power you possessed either by working hard, claiming titles or winning inter-village fights, the more you were respected as a man by your peers, elders and more importantly, women, in Igboland. This was indeed the case in Umuofia - the village from which Okonkwo’s father hailed, and Okonkwo’s place of residence. His ‘manliness’ as exhibited by the number of fights under his belt not only scored him his title as a clan leader and warrior in Umuofia, but also won him the heart of his second wife, Ekwefi, who had earlier married another man because Okonkwo, at that time, was poor.

Without endorsing the idea of adultery and cautiously noting, the setting of the story portrays polygamy as the true and traditionalist nature of Nigerian men. In precolonial Igboland, as Achebe casts in Things Fall Apart, polygamy and status went hand in hand. In contrast to modern Nigeria where monogamy as enforced by the Christian missionaries is “respected” in most - mainly Christian - households, a man was not a man unless he had more than one wife. Similarly, the ‘real’ men - that is, non-effeminate - were known by the fruits they bore. That is, the number of children they had, and the gender of the offspring - as male children were better valued.

The dominance of men in the household and society is a recurrent theme in Things Fall Apart. As simple as emotions, these were for women...
Read Full Review Here:

[...]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2017
This title is one of the few texts I studied back in school that I have been eager to reread. While a quick read through is worthwhile, it can be much more rewarding to spend some extra time exploring the history surrounding the book, and the main themes of culture clash and destiny. Highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
I approached Achebe's great African trilogy in the wrong order having listened to No Longer At Ease before Things Fall Apart. I think this gave a slightly different perspective on the book as I already knew the story of Okonkwo's grandson and it was interesting to fill how this family had become estranged. I was surprised that our lead character, Okonkwo, is such an essentially unlikeable man. I wonder if he would have seemed such an anachronism in the 1950s though when attitudes all over the world concerning male supremacy and women's rights were very different.

Achebe writes simply, but cleverly so I began to view customs and superstitions within the village as normal, even ideas such as infant death being caused by evil spirits. This meant that I could then easily understand the anger and offence caused by the incoming missionaries with their radical ideas. There is significant repetition of phrases which made listening to the audio version almost like listening to epic poetry or song. For example, Ezinma is rarely named without also being described as the daughter of Ekwefi so relationships and identities are reinforced in the mind of the reader. Things Fall Apart is a great novel of this time and place and, while I don't think I quite enjoyed it as much as No Longer At Ease, I can certainly see why it has endured as a classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2015
Easy to read but with a deeper subtext, this is the tale of Okonkwo. Having risen through his own efforts from being son of a wastrel father, he is now an important man in his Nigerian village, a position he jealously guards by ruling his wives and children with an iron hand.
Achebe gives a good picture of what life was like before white settlers came - the superstitions, wars and beheadings of rival clans, the fear of the oracle. And then the first missionaries arrive with their apparently harmless religion, followed by the first administrators, and the clan appears to be 'breaking up and falling apart'...
Vivid and enjoyable portrayal of old Nigeria, leaving the reader uncertain whether 'westernization' was a good thing for the ordinary people.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I can see how this is an important book, probably more so at the time of its publication than now, and there are many things I liked about it. It introduces me to interesting aspects of a foreign culture, successfully evokes the landscape and sets up complex and compelling tensions within the community and between it and the white European interlopers.

But the plot is patchy and episodic and Okonkwo, although a strong character, isn't explored in enough depth to make his fate feel as tragic as it could have been. I don't know to what extent these issues are attributable to the peculiarities of West African narrative tradition, but they dented my enjoyment of the book. But it's still worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Chinua Achebe derives the title to his magnum opus from a verse from W. B. Yeats' "The Second Coming," The Collected Poems of W.B.Yeats (Wordsworth Poetry) (Wordsworth Poetry Library). An apt title indeed, for a novel whose central theme is what happened in Africa, from the African's perspective, when the white man (and yes, the gender is specific) showed up. The book was first published in the late `50's, shortly after Nigeria, where this novel is set, became independent. It concerns the Ibo (Igbo) region of southeastern Nigeria. This region sought its own independence as Biafra, in 1967, and Achebe became a spokesperson for their cause. There are now more than 8 million copies in print, and Achebe is often referred to as the father of modern African literature. With the novel's widespread acceptance, it has become a "school assignment" book, (it even has its own "Cliffs Notes"!) and hence, the posting of numerous 1-star reviews. Some of the1-star reviews are thoughtful however, challenging the author for using the work of a white Irishman for his title, and did the slaughter of World War I really compare with the interactions of white Europeans with Africans? That leads to the true fool's errand of toting up the dead bodies. As for my own reading, I've read several books from the (American) Indian perspective on the coming of the white man, and I have read numerous books on Africa, almost exclusively by whites such as Alan Paton, Nadine Gordimer, Doris Lessing, Albert Camus, Jules Roy, Alistair Horne, and even Joseph Conrad, who Achebe has fiercely criticized. Certainly a read from an African perspective, perhaps the most famous one, has been LONG overdue.

I liked Achebe's prose style. Straightforward, and unsentimental. He certainly does not depict a glorious Eden before the arrival of the white man. And almost three-fourths of the novel is set in the period before his arrival. The protagonist is Okonkwo, the son of an indolent father, Unoka. The son's upward social mobility commences with his wrestling victory over Amalinze the Cat. Okonkwo has the internal motivation to rise above his father's "station in life." There is the "sociological aspect" to the novel. I kept thinking of a 600 page treatise, with leaden prose, and tables, describing the rituals of birth, marriage and death, along with the systems for religious observation, the administration of justice, and the economics of village life. What are the family customs and beliefs that are held important? Achebe covers all of this, deftly, in novelistic vignettes. In addition, Achebe's characters display the universal qualities of the human condition: desire for advancement, greed, envy, sexual relations, pride, disappointment in one's children, and the response to natural disasters, such as too much rain, or too many locust. "Chi" is apparently the Ibo word for "fate," and it is a dominant factor in the characters' lives.

The white man first arrives on an "iron horse," which turns out to be a bicycle. He pays with his life for his temerity, a "casus belli," which quickly leads to an unequal exchange of life. But it is religion, and not armies, that provide the essential wedge for "things falling apart." I thought Achebe did a brilliant job in describing how it so often happens. In his novel, the white missionary is rather inoffensive and bumbling. But oh so effective in appealing to the individuals at the lower rungs of Ibo society... basically giving them a "second chance" in life. The Christian religion gathers adherents, and effectively defeats the "gods" of the native religion. Achebe also realistically depicts the (in)famous "divide and rule" tactics of the colonial British. When two quite different social structures compete, all too often, at least for a period, it is the side with the larger warships that seems to win.

Achebe's work is a classic, and despite Mark Twain's quip, one that should be read, by anyone seeking to truly understand why things are the way they are, particularly in Africa. Could it be made into a temporary home? 5-stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
This story moved me in many ways and the end left me with a keen sense of sadness.

Wonderfully written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse