Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2006
Despite being technically a 'dictionary', this book can easily be read a a 'primer' on philosophy. Concise, informed, well cross-referenced and comprehensive, even the more complicated and enigmatic philosophical theories are explained clearly, critically and without over-simplification or overt bias.

My one reservation is that some entries which deal with issues which cross into theological grounds are rather sparsely expanded upon. While I appreciate that these issues are best dealt with in depth in a 'Dictionary of Theology', the effect many of them (such as Original Sin) had on contemporary philosophical thought (not to mention contemporary Western society) would justify a little more expansion than the dozen lines with which they are summarised.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2006
i am an absolute beginner to philosophy and this book has been such a help!
all the definitions are precise enough to explain the essence of every theory, but still concise enough not to derail you from what you're actually reading.
i mean if you want to learn a lot about specific theories just from the dictionary, then this isnt it. it's just right to get you through other philosophy-readings, just like a dictionary. its not an encyclopaedia.
works marvels!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
This really is a great resource for almost any given term or philosopher you can think of.
It is set out like a normal word dictionary but with more detail given to each term, subject, or philosopher.
Some definitions range from a few paragraphs, and others cover a few pages. It's all done in concise, detailed, bite-size chunks, that are perfect for quick consumption.
It's a great value philosophy book, that isn't short on details / definitions, so I really can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
If you need a basic dictionary, for a beginners philosophy course this dictionary will do the trick. It is very compact and it provides the meanings or information in a very conscience way. If you are looking for something more complete, or, let's say, for research reference I would go for the Cambridge one.. this dictionary, like I said is just at a beginners level.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Fantastic read, covers the entire A-Z of all things Philosophical. Great aid and easy reading. Would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
This item is a great start to understanding the basics of Philosophy. It gives you foundation knowledge of every aspect of Philosophy, from the life of the Philosophers, to the definitions of Philosophical terminology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
My daughter needed this book for to complete her secondary education in Holland. She passed her very challenging exams with its help.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
I bought this for my son studying A-level philosophy and it has proven a great resource!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
I am much better off with my own reference library,in my own home,than going down to the local one - to find they have not got anything 'cepting videotapes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Very good book. Excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse