Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2012
Whilst I enjoy watching this fat oaf on the TV I enjoy his books more. The ones he writes about cars are not as amusing to me as his collection of shorts from the Sunday Times but they are good time killers all the same. If you like Clarkson.you'll like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Brought this book for my boyfriend and he throughly enjoyed reading it so I decide to as well and had a good laugh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2008
Ok, so its obvious, but its about the most important point. This book is a collection of very short articles from JC. That means you can enjoy a few and not be so into some others, they contain a few good lines, a few amusing points of view and at no point are they actually rubbish.

The problem for me is the fact its a set of distinctly individual pieces, its not a proper book, its a scrapbook of JC's lifetime in his chosen profession. If you worship him and have been around for the whole time, then its probably going to strike a chord, if however neither apply to you, its just a couple of chuckles you will get. That's not going to see you through the whole book without some determination.

You can not be engrossed, you can not become immersed in a story, you cannot try and imagine what might be coming later in the book.

However, as I said, thats all pretty obvious, so if you like JC, this wont be the worst thing you have ever bought, it will be ok!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
My son is a Top Gear fan and he enjoyed reading this book about the antics these three men get up to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Really good early Clarkson book, it is a recommended read, it is a funny book nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2007
It has some funny articles, though it could do with having the dates the articles were originally published (one of his later books has the publication dates).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Thinking out loud good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
This book was a gift and thats the only reason I have it. I also understand that this book was given away for free with the Top Gear magazine, which, I guess, is not the most promising sign of its literary merit.

The fact that the articles are ancient is bad enough, but the fact that they barely say anything about cars at all makes them worse. If they were, than you could at least have an idea about the cars, even if they are old models. Instead what we get is Clarkson talking about his life, his feelings and (God help us all) his political views.

This book should have been called "The Clarkson Diaries: Confessions of a Man who has No Life".

Avoid this book, and if, like me, you already have it, give it to a charity shop, so someone else knows how full of crap Clarkson is.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)