Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2012
I've got the kindle version & I was expecting some maps to be provided, but there aren't any, which makes it very difficult perhaps impossible to relate to where the German & Russian units were fighting & to understand the pace of the Russian advance.
The author does convey the brutality of the war on the Eastern Front and described how soldiers & civilians were affected.
I wish I'd looked at the hardback version now although someone has posted that this doesn't contain any maps either which is surprising to hear.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Having read STALINGRAD, the German march through the Russian contryside attacking Lenigrad & Moscow onward at such a pace, coming to an abrupt halt at Staligrad which I found to be very interesting but fierce brutality which the Russians warned Germans they would do the same to Berlin, DESTROY IT . The details within the covers of the book are fantastic who ans what did what when they approached Berlin. Fantastic Reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
Beevor's attention to detail and ability to see events from an ordinary individual's point of view is outstanding and makes for a riveting read, despite being utterly horrific in places. I devoured this poolside over a few days in Corfu - much to the chagrin of the German hotel guests (their forefathers had it coming)! This further underlines (for me at least) what a herculean effort the Russians brought to bear in defeating Hitler's Reich. Western Europe, Italy and Normandy were a mere sideshow compared to this carnage ...imo.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
I'm a huge fan of the detail that Beevor brings to his topics. Whilst he excelled again with this book, I felt he drifted into historiography too much. It is clear that he despises Nazism, but he allowed this personal view to be expressed repeatedly, rather than letting the facts speak for themselves.

Interestingly, more than for any other war book I've read, I was struck by the awful, dreadful waste of human life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
A superb book. Well presented and thought out but very pro German.
Beevor found the real reason behind the massive Soviet invasion -
of the German secret atom bomb programme. I was disappointed that he did not acknowledge the suffering of the
Soviet people during the invasion. Still a good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
An excellent exposition of the period: made that much more interesting by the anecdotal evidence provided in its quotations from 'ordinary' people.

The analysis of the "rape on an industrial scale of German women" by the Russians was particularly illuminating.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Exceptionally detailed yet fast-paced and interesting.

From the macro to the micro this book firmly plants you in the collapse of the Third Reich
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
Well written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
I think antony beaver is a brilliant writer and I read and enjoy is books as much as I love apple pie and custard......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
Was in great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)