Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 September 2002
This is how history books should be written - not a simple litany of past events but with pathos and the ability to submerge the reader in the drama.
Berlin: The Downfall 1945 quickly sweeps you into the dark days at the end of the Third Reich. The courage and barbarity of the protagonists is chillingly exposed and you can't help but shudder at the appalling tragedy that befell humans on both sides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2010
A fantastic read which reveals the utter chaos and destruction of a doomed nation and its people. The red army is approaching Berlin fast and taking its revenge on the German people in its path. Totally gripping and informative. The author has a distinctive style that makes what is essentially a historical episode read like a novel. Check out "STALINGRAD" by the same author..another damned good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2008
An amazingly detailed account of the scope & horror of the event. For all the movies & documentaries about WWII they berely scratch the surface of the reality of warfare. If war's were told like this we may be more apprehensive about starting new ones. Seven million strong the Red Army had on the border of East Prussia prior to the invasion, that was the entire population of Australia at the time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2010
Really enjoyed Stalingrad and this book is equally as good. Am currently a quarter of the way through the author's book on D-Day which I'm also really enjoying. As others have mentioned, the books read like fictional novels but are more compelling because you know this isn't fiction. I read the kindle ebook edition which was well formatted with no errors (as were the previously mentioned books).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2014
Anthony Beevor is, without question, a master of his craft. Together with Max Hastings,he represents the very best of Modern Historians. As one who lived through the times, I find his book totally believable and an engrossing read. There is so much about the second world war that was hidden from the general public that has now emerged and Mr. Beevor's book misses very little. Read it and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2016
The somewhat-sequel to Stalingrad tells the story of the Red Army sweeping across Eastern Europe. It's a fairly grim tale -- the talk of rape starts around page 2 --, and contains lots of human misery and killing, interspersed with the spiralling events in Berlin as the Bolsheviks approached. It is essential reading for anyone interested in the period, but I won't say I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2006
Where do I begin with this book? Antony Beevor had me engrossed from the very first page. I noted with interest that one of the printed reviewers in the book likened it to reading it like a novel. It really does run like a story, yet you know in the back of your mind you are being taken to one of the most tragic periods of history in the modern world. Everything about this book is excellent - the maps, the photographs, all combine with Beevor's writing well. It does away nicely with the whole 'USA won the war' theory that many people buy into. Read the casualty lists of both German and Russian, and the numbers of men in the armies involved on the Eastern Front. The numbers pale in comparison to Western figures. Much has been made of the mass rape that occurred as the Red Army closed on Berlin in this book, and I ask, why? Do people want Beevor to just ignore it happened? Much of the information in this book is from a time after the Wall came down, leading to the opening of fascinating Soviet archives. It says a lot that this information is now available. To summarize, a book well worth reading by EVERYONE, wheather interested in military history or not.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2013
...but true. The fall of the Berlin is not just a simple history book, Beevor makes it personal by telling stories of ordinary soldiers, their fight for their survival, and he captures the spirit of the battle as if he were one of the deffenders. The book will suck the reader in, and when it ends it's like "wow, what a story!".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2010
Berlin by Beevor makes fascinating reading, it not only gives a comprehensive history of the last months of the 2nd WW, but also describes the thinking of the four leaders, Stalin, Hitler, Roosevelt, and Churchill. Beevor writes history so well, that it makes it compelling and easy to read. I eagerly await his next book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2013
Beevor is a great writer. He manages to circumvent the big picture and at the same time he focuses on the most fascinating anecdotes. I also learn about history in a way which is not commonly acknowledged: the German people, especially women, suffered hugely during the downfall of Hitler's Germany. Riveting stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)