Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 September 2017
Again... Seth takes 1 message (stop advertising, start innovating) and turns it into a book... most of the text is bulked out as filler and it's a really boring read!

Tribes was the same, boring as hell! 1 point!

This is an blog post, not a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Good, but not essential. As with quite a few marketing books, they have one point, which they labor out into a full book, but at least it's a good point, and a short book, so you can forgive the author for that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2017
A must read for anyone wanting to start or grow their own business. Inspirational!

An easy read. could not put this book down once I started reading it and finished it in record time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
What you read about in this book seems so obvious yet Ive never realized it before ... Go Purple Cow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
There is a small, nay large, industry that makes claims like:

“consumer behaviour has changed radically”
“marketing doesn’t work anymore”

And yet then presents nothing more than a repackaging of the orthodoxy.

For example, Seth Godin’s “Purple Cow” says that marketing is “broken”, that advertising could once turn a sow’s ear into a silk purse but has lost its effectiveness due to clutter and ad avoidance. This is spite of research that shows advertising continues to perform as well as ever (1) (2) (3).

So says Seth, companies need to adopt his radical new marketing strategy which is…wait for it…. to produce remarkable products and market them in remarkable ways. Wow. I don’t remember my old Uni textbooks saying anything like this, they only used words like “great” not “remarkable”. What a step forward in thinking.

Seth’s a great story teller but it is a sad reflection on our discipline that these best sellers are so shallow.

Professor Byron Sharp. July 2011

(1) Jamhouri, O., & Winiarz, M. (2009) “The enduring influence of TV advertising and communications clout patterns in the global marketplace”, Journal of Advertising Research, 49(2), 227-235.

(2) Rubinson, J. (2009) “Empirical evidence of TV advertising effectiveness”, Journal of Advertising Research, 49(2), 220-226.

(3) Hammer, P., Riebe, E., & Kennedy, R. (2009) “How clutter affects advertising effectiveness”, Journal of Advertising Research, 49(2), 159-163.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
The key to successful marketing is not following someone else's step by step guide on how to be successful as everybody is doing the same. What this book does is inspire you to think about your own ideas on how you and your business can be remarkable.

People who think that you shouldn't buy this book because there is nothing new about it are wrong. They are missing the whole point of it, the book is not meant to show you what to do it in a pretty little marketing by numbers kind of way. The point is to help you use the most powerful marketing tool available to you.... your brain, your own creativity, your passion and your ability to inspire and be inspired!

I have had the book for years and I have read it a few times. What's the reason I have only written the review now.... I have just read it again and found it applies as much in 2010 as it did in 2005... possibly more so!

Saying that it won't be for everybody. You need to have an open and creative mind, have a passion about your business and want to stand out from crowd!

Lee Woodford
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
very disappointing. Had heard him speak and was impressed. Not sure which book to go for and when for this. It, unlike his speaking, is weak. Be remarkable is the message but that is almost too obvious. the examples given were poor. Stopped near the end as was getting frustrated with it. not sure will try another of his?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
A great book, based on a simple but often overlooked principle.

In some respects, a whole book isn't necessary, but the book itself was necessary to highlight the importance of being outstanding. Whether you're in business, or just wanting to do something better, this is a great read. He does many talks on the internet, like the free TED Talks, so if you watch those, you might not need this. It's still excellent though. A purple cow of a book! Seriously impressive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2010
This is the classic book on marketing for the 21st Century. Though I can save you the cash and tell you what it's about right now:

BE REMARKABLE.
Do normal things extraordinarily well.
Don't be Good, be Great.

How you do this and outside of the ambit of this book - but it probably involves common sense and understand your customer.

If you have the cash and want to read it - by all means do. But if you're read Seth's other stuff, you've already got the idea of this.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
Having heard great things about the author, I perhaps had my hopes up too high when I started reading this book. I am half way through it but have had to put it down because I just can't find any golden nuggets that I can use...even though I was desperate to find some! However, if you have never read about marketing, then this is probably an insightful book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)