Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Zulu
  • Customer reviews

Zulu
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 January 2010
I have read a number of historical novels but this is the first that I recollect that presented the unfolding saga of the Zulu war of 1879 (to include Rorkes Drift) as a story rather than a series of mundane 'facts'. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in history of the Victorian expanding empire.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2012
this book is a very interesting read. it is like a epic movie .defeats victories mistakes the end of a royal dynesty bravery and brutality on both sides you could not write a better script.i found this a much better read than ian knights book .this book drags you in and wont let go till the end .it brings the people more to life than ian knights book .graet battle descriptions from both the british and zulus.and some interesting pictures aswell great book a must read [ian knights book is good but i think this is better]saul david hits the mark .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2013
A well told history of this sorry time. Tells the story from all sides: British, Zulu, officers, men and warriors.

I enjoyed the accounts of heroism on both sides. The participants come across as ordinary people in an extraordinary situation.

There is a very large cast of characters and sometimes I found it difficult to keep up.

I recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2013
The TRUE STORY of Isandlwana and Rorkes Drift. Not the Hogwash presented to the public in the form of the film Zulu. Still I did enjoy the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2014
Quite interesting history of the Zulu nation and all the events running up to and including the battle at Rorkes Drift. Book was in great condition and well packed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2009
I love the epic battles the British put up against the Zulu's. Hence the perchase of this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2012
I have to admit that like many others I developed a fascination with the Zulu War after having watched the Stanley Baker film "Zulu". Since then I have read a lot of books on the subject which go into varying levels of detail about the war but Saul David's book is the most readable and informative history to date.

As well as covering the most famous battles at Isandlwana and Rorkes Drift this book also covers a lot of lesser known battles that I was surprised to find are equally as fascinating to read about. For some reason other books barely mention the rest of the campaign but Saul David's "Zulu" vividly describes each episode in exciting and extremely readable prose.

Several highly detailed maps are provided at the front of the book showing the different battles and there are the usual collection of photo's and drawings to help illustrate the text.

Although the book does focus on the campaign from the British viewpoint the writing does show a great deal of respect for the bravery and achievements of the Zulu people. For a more detailed history of the Zulu's themselves Donald R Morris's "The Washing of the Spears" goes right back to the origins of the Zulu nation but doesn't do as good a job at describing the 1879 war.

If you want a stirring and engaging account of the Zulu War which will have you wanting to watch the movie "Zulu" again for the 500th time then I cannot reccomend Saul David's book more highly.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2013
If you are looking at the reviews of this book then you almost certainly have a more than passing interest in what is a fascinating and at times gripping era in British military history.

The available literature for this subject is vast, the Zulu war being far better covered in both film and written works than say, the Opium wars or the war fought against the Maori nation. Because of this there are certainly more detailed and comprehensive books available, for example "The washing of the spears" by Donald Morris, which seems to be the "industry standard" and many others beside.

However this work stands as a good and comprehensive account of the war against the Zulu nation, and crucially is a very well crafted book, easily accessible to teenage readers as well as the mature reader, at no point does the book become a tedious list of detail or technical blather. It does include some really interesting information on, for example, the Zulu perspective of several of the battles that I have not read else where. Well worth purchasing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
after Zulu and Zulu dawn a completely different look about what actually happened, it shows how flaw English military thinking was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2011
When I began reading this booking I was a little fearful that it would just be a series of descriptions of battles which I have previously found to be quite tedious.

Fortunately, this book is so much more. A lively cast of entertaining characters, some fascinating political machinations involving Queen Victoria and Disraeli, plenty of myth-debunking and some truly exciting battle descriptions.

A relatively easy read if you can get your head round some of the Zulu names (would have been nice to have been told how to pronounce them). The narrative flows well and there aren't too many of those annoying *'s interrupting the flow and turning your attention to an aside or clarification (the ones that are there are brief).

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)