Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
43
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2013
shortly after 9/11 i was hungry for books and knowledge to educate myself about the world we live in. although i was still very young i was one of those unfortunate souls who believed i was already informed and well-read. i would have argued to the death that i was right because i thought i was. "i watch the news, i watch documentaries, i do know what's happening..." and then i discovered noam chomsky. hegemony or survival was the first chomsky work that i read. and it knocked me sideways. if you've never read anything like this before, but think you know what's happening out there, this book is intellectually devastating. the thing that sets chomsky apart is that he only deals in documented facts. there is no debate to be had. this man has more integrity in his little finger than the entire western world's corporate mainstream media has combined. he is a walking encyclopedia. i gave this book away to a friend one evening and told him trust me, just read it. he text me around 6am the next morning. the text said simply "this book is incredible."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Chilling. Shocking. Enraging. Depressing. Everyone in the West should read this book and understand the cynical decisions taken by US governments and their lackey states over many, many years. It might help us to answer the question, 'why do they hate us?' Equally important is to understand how the mainstream media fails to do its job - keep account of the politicians, military industries and economic elites. This book made me angry but it also made me depressed because I felt so helpless in the face of such huge abusive power.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Another hit from Chomsky. Wonderfully interesting book, shedding light on the history we are never told nor taught. From this book one can really understand why there is such an anti-American sentiment towards the US government (not US people). This is a must read for anybody interested in this sort of thing. 5 Stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
One of the best books that I've ever read on current affairs and power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
If you don't want to know, what the mainstream media doesn't want you to know, don't read this book.
Chomsky understands how US foreign policy works and he explains it clearly and well documented. It's a quick read, and always exciting.

It's not left wing propaganda, just a simple look at the facts.
If other reviews says this is left wing propaganda, those reviews are wrong. The saddest thing about the west today, is that most of us sincerely believe our propaganda. Chomsky does us the service of showing that we are not morally superior to others. History hasn't changed, imperialism is still the game of the mighty.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Noam Chomsky, This is not one of the best of his that I have read. but having said that he is still one of my favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2003
Those new to Chomsky�s view on American dominance of the world will find this book a revelation. Those who�ve been reading Chomsky for years will find an unsatisfying familiarity; not with his eminently straightforward writing style, but with the fact that little in the world seems to have changed. All who read this book will turn off their bedside lamp with a will to change the world tomorrow.
Chomsky tends to write his books as updates to previous books, therefore those familiar with his past works will inevitably find themselves being exposed to facts they�ve already heard. However, as these facts are so numerous and noteworthy, only the most retentive brain will mind hearing them for a second or third time. And for newcomers what this man has to say about America�s intentions for the world will require two or three reads to soak in, and a further session of research to determine whether his meticulously documented facts could possibly all be true.
The book itself does exactly what Amazon�s synopsis says, so those in the know will click on add to basket straight away. For those unfamiliar with Chomsky, I�ll say only this: if you still question whether the US administration is willing to sacrifice innocent lives for oil, this book provides an intelligent answer.
11 Comment| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
On a first reading of Noam Chomsky, I have to say that Nick Cohen's review of Hegemony or Survival, published in the Observer (14/12/03), seems so wide of the mark that he could have been discussing a different book. Chomsky's writing is neither "dense" nor "convoluted" - on the contrary, he writes clearly and concisely and the argument is not at all difficult to follow if you approach it with an open mind, which Cohen obviously doesn't. Given how much ground is covered in a fairly short book, it's inevitable that some issues are covered in a fairly superficial way, but Chomsky acknowledges this and provides plenty of references for those who wish to fill in the gaps. Admittedly, the text is seasoned with a fair amount of irony, but given the nature of the facts that are related here this seems amply justified. The book is a gripping, disturbing read - a wake up call to the planet's "second superpower", i.e. public opinion. Chomsky's popularity is anything but "mystifying" to me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2006
If you are reading this, then you are probably already familiar with Professor Noam Chomsky's writings, so rather than re-cap his work, I will offer only a few salient points.

This is Chomsky's most well written book in years. It is a small irony that a professor of linguistics has often authored books that can be quite badly written - Year 501: The Conquest Continues, being a prime offender. This isn't dumbed-down Chomsky but rather this book feels as if Chomsky has taken much more care in making this book accessible to a wider audience and not just his hardcore fanbase.

Secondly, as usual with Chomsky's books, he recapitulates his own work quite frequently (to phrase it generously). Hegemony or Survival is no different. About half of this book is fresh material and half is previously published.

However, this book is most definitely worth purchasing, even if you have Deterring Democracy (probably his best) because it covers the years 1993 - 2003 (approx.) with his usual insightful prose. Though the book covers outside of this timeframe, looking at the Cuban Missile Crisis or Israel and Palestine, for example, Chomsky is at his best in this book when he is being contemporary. The parallels he draws betwixt Clinton's bombing of the Sudanese pharmaceutical factory and Al Qaeda's bombing of the Twin Towers is fiercely provocative and yet thoroughly underpinned by diligent research and logic.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is another eye opening book from Chomsky about American foreign and domestic policy. It covers the period from the end of the second world war, and focuses (as expected) on Iraq. It has some fascinating and shocking information (although a lot of it has been said elsewhere by various people, including Chomsky) and I would say this is a good starting place for those new to American foreign policy and practise. Sadly, considering Chomsky is a linguistics professor, this book isn't too clear at times. I found that for many pages the prose flowed coherently and put across the points extremely well, only to be followed by a couple of pages that were unfocused and hard to decipher at first read, and I've read many Chomsky and political books. This is the only reason this book got four stars from me. Overall, an insightful, fascinating, if slightly scary and depressing read. If this whets your appetite, try 'One No, many yeses' By Paul Kingsnorth for one portrayal of an alternative world view.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)