Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
51
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2015
Top notch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
alain de botton is a great writer in my view
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
First problem is the small print. I haven't actually managed to read much of this book as it is such a strain to see it.
Also feel that Alain de Botton could have got a lot more out of this idea.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Alain de Botton probes deeply into our thoughts and ideas about the buildings around us with amazing clarity. He puts words to feelings you might have had in the back of your mind but ignored because you didn't know whether they could be expressed. When you read his words you feel enlightened and grateful for the experience. You go back into the world with a more refined set of tools to process it with.
Most books on architecture are about history and appreciation of aesthetic and cultural details. His book cuts right through that layer. What we find beautiful is the promise of an intelligent kind of happiness. A home should be a setting that reminds us of our deepest, most genuine values, our concern for others and for the environment. What we search for in architecture is not so far from what we search for in a friend.
How wonderful to have these truths subtly and intricately revealed to us as a way of counteracting all the information about fashion and design, pumped into our brains on a daily basis. There are beautiful black and white photos and engravings throughout the book to illustrate his observations.
I loved this book, read it slowly and savoured it and will definitely be reading it again. If people of de Botton's calibre, with such depth, humour and insight, were running the world there would be hope for the human race.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2006
Botton has often flirted dangerously with a reputation for pretension, fortunately assuaged by his fresh combination of genuine erudition and earthy humour, plus his extraordinarily lucid written style. However, after the wonderfully fluffy 'Art of Travel', his humour deserted him with 'Status Anxiety' , a book which managed to frivolously embroider basic assumptions with faux-sophisticated connections with art and economics.

'The Architecture of Happiness' happily restores Botton's status of benign self-help guru. Still lacking in the humour of earlier works, this volume makes some genuinely profound statements on virtue and beauty as applied to our exteriors and interiors. It is still written in Botton's academic, philanthropic tone and is a real page-turner too.

Recommended.
0Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2006
This book can be considered a well balanced guide to the major philosophical and theoretical debates which affect every architect-in-training in forming their own opinions and which have been debated over the past centuries. Everything from "what is archtitecture" downwards.

Contains just enough of each point of view to enable ideas to be formed, or to guide further research, without telling you what to think. Its a composition rather than a manifesto. Every ten pages or so there is a gem of a quote. And just as you start thinking, "but what does that mean for..." you turn the page and there it is, with quotes and references and everything you need to start making up your own mind.

If as an undergrad you're only likely to read one book on theory this year, and want to avoid becoming a specialist on [insert obscure german author your tutor wants an essay on], read this for the whole picture. Its really accessibly written too. And has pictures (good heavens!). And big margins.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
De Botton's book was enjoyable to read, though I never really found any resolution to the questions he posed. Sometimes, he seems to contradict himself. Throughout the beginning of the book, de Botton champions many elements of Classical architecture (in the process castigates--deservedly in my opinion--Le Courbusier's architecture and methods, pp. 54-67). Later in the book, de Botton tells the reader what structures are "successful": terribly modern edifices are praised which seems counter-intuitive based on the first half of the book. On p. 199, "Like Kahn's Yale Center, Herzog and de Meuron's house achieves its effect by weaving a pattern of beauty from two aesthetic strands-meaning, also, two varieties of happiness..." He tells us that we admire bridges as "a certain kind of beauty is bound up with our admiration for strength, for man-made objects which can withstand the life-destroying forces of heat, cold, gravity or wind...we see beauty in sea defences that shrug off the waves which batter them, and in bolts, rivets, cables, beams and buttresses...(p. 204).

De Botton's work was interesting until p. 166 when he writes about psychological mechanisms and our appreciation of architecture. The train quickly derails and many untenable claims are made. I expected a bit more from a trained philosopher (he holds a Master's Degree in Philosophy, as I understand). I wonder why de Botton decided to confront this topic with a superficial knowledge of architecture; he relies on meandering philosophical arguments to explain what beauty is (though the arguments are wholly unconvincing and certainly not logical). Most of the claims are based on appeals to the reader's emotions. The book is 267 pages of text, much of which is simple prose (though entertaining at times).

Overall the effort is interesting at best, dilettantish at worst.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
This is definitely one of his best books. Yet again he approaches his subject with a learned clarity and keeps his subject fascinating whilst pulling out plenty of useful and enlightening insights that allow you to see things in a different and refreshing way. He explores a number of different styles from the classical era right up to today from many parts of the world, ranging from masterpiece to eyesore. He explains the power and psychology of architecture and how it can and does influence our outlook. Like most of his work this is refreshing, nicely written and highly accessible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Beautiful. Three stars because I felt the author lost interest before I did. Should have been half the length; the first half. Almost perfection at points.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
For fans of Alain de Botton's, this book will be just the kind of delightful stuff we've come to expect from him - intelligent, well written stuff and ideas with which one cannot help but agree... extremely useful book even if all you'd want is to understand what beauty is, not only in houses or architecture but also in seemingly non-related areas like art, fashion, or everyday life.

However, it's a great shame that all the pictures are black & white (I have the hardcover edition and I assume the paperback is the same). I don't believe the reasons for this could have been aesthetic, ie how could a painting benefit from being reproduced in black & white? so it must have been done to keep the cost down, and it shows... be prepared for serious and frustrated disappointment because the book is a lot about those particular paintings and works of art. Otherwise it would have gotten 5 stars from me, great content.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)