Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
86
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2017
A very enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Wife pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Really loved this story - great characters - another great one from Lisa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
An easy read of modern lifestyle containing mystery and romance. This particular copy was an additional purchase as a gift for a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 March 2007
Toby, a poet, was bought a house in Finchley by his father before he went off and abandoned him. There is already one sitting tenant, but Toby turns the rest of the rooms into a home for waifs and strays, people who can't afford to pay rent, musicians, poets and people who are just down on their luck.

Fifteen years go by and the death of Gus, the sitting tenant, gives Toby a chance to start again and reclaim his life. With the help of Leah, from across the road, Toby gradually starts to get to know the people who have taken over his house and help them find a way to move on!

This is a typical Lisa Jewell book, lovely light reading with small touches of tragedy and comedy. The characters are well developed (especially Ruby, the hard drinking, hard smoking, hard partying rock chick)

Really enjoyable, would make great beach reading, and (as with all Jewell novels) you're guaranteed a happy ending!
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 May 2007
Having read all of the author's previous books, I eagerly awaited her current tome and I wasn't disappointed. The plot centres around Toby, owner of 31 Silversmith Street, a detached rambling house in North London which houses various sitting tenants, all with a different story to tell. Jewell elaborates further on the tenants' lives throughout a series of short chapters, interspercing them with details of neighbour Leah's lovelorn tale.

This book is beautifully crafted and will make the most heard-hearted chick-lit cynic sit up and take notice. I wholeheartedly recommend it to all, a great summer read and something I believe will stand the test of time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2007
If this book doesn't become a film one day, I'll eat my hat. It has blockbuster written all over it - in the vein of About a Boy, Love Actually, Four Weddings and Bridget Jones. It's a superbly woven tale of the lives of the inhabitants of Peacock House, owned by Toby, overlooked by Leah and recently left by Gus ... who turns both their lives around. This is a beautifully written book, which really draws the reader into the lives of the main characters, and by the end of the book I was genuinely caught up in a desire for happy endings for (nearly) all of them. I adored Toby, and it was a really refreshing angle for the lead character of a Chick Lit title to be a man...Though not overly sentimental, there is much poignant soul searching for all the characters involved, and the author carefully handles the twists and turns of their lives with grace. I loved Lisa's books before this one - they are all funny and "real" and touching, but the bar has definitely been raised with 31 Dream Street. It's one of the best books I've read this year, and the feeling that I really care what the future holds for Con and Daisy, Melinda and Jack (who for some reason I picture as Anthony LaPaglia), and of course Toby and Leah....has stayed with me since I turned the last page. Thank you Lisa.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
I feel like such a party pooper saying I didn't particularly like this book. I mean, don't get me wrong. It's a pretty good read and a good story. When you put it apart, the characters are great, their stories are amazing, and it's a great idea that should have made an amazing book. Yet, when you put it all together, the book seemed a bit bland and missed the sparkle that would make it a bestseller in my eyes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lisa Jewell creates a world that's covered in fairy lights and mist where the stars are aways twinkly and things will always work out in the end.

31 Dream Street is no different. Yes, it's all about girl meets boy, but both girl and boy veer away from your average chick-lit protagonists. It makes them that much easier to identify with, too.

I may be a little biased, because the part of London described in this book is my stomping ground, and have often shopped in the famous pink fluffy girlie shop in Muswell Hill. But Jewell's version of London is cosier, friendlier and much, much warmer.

This book is just fabulous to curl up with. I so wish it would have come out in Winter, as this is literally the perfect book to inhale on a cold evening in front of an open fire with frost on the windows... but it's wholly loveable wherever and whenever you read it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here