Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2003
An eye opener of a book. Will change your perception of the Western World, especially the US forever.
One warning: don't read more than 1 chapter at a time, or you'll get too depressed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2003
Michael Moore's humrorous look at how America is being run will make you laugh, make you cry and then make you very angry. It is refreshing to hear from someone who isn't prepared to sit back and watch while the world self destructs. Compulsive reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2003
I must confess I had never heard of this man before, his previous films and book, passed me by and to be honest my life would not have been any worse for not having read this. All this book did is give meat to the beliefs I already have about the wonderful US of A. The fact that all politicians, even the so called good guys are only in it for what they can get out for themselves. (there again they are the world over) What I was hoping for was something akin to Hunter’s venom. I got the facts a cuddly middle class American style, which did actually make me laugh once or twice, but the passion was all but lost on me as there was none there. Add to it the Catholic angst from a man who tell us not to touch ourselves otherwise we will have only produce baby girls.
I did not want to go out and shout about it after, more sit back and smugly say “I told you so.”
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2004
Do yourself a favour and save your brass. This book is nothing more than the rantings of a small child who hasn't got his own way and consequently gives us a literary dummy spitting session, par excellence.
His arguments are simplistic and at times insulting. His solution to the Northern Ireland political situation is admittedly unique. Only in that anyone else who has ever thought of the same solution in a moment of idiocy, wasn't stupid enough to open their mouth, let alone publish it in print.
As for the humour, it is best described as a compilation of the original work every political humourist over the last quarter of a century. Nothing more than an impressive catalogue of plagiarism.
By the time you get halfway through the book, you will never want to see another list again, as Mr. Moore makes use of them with monotonous regularity in the course of his diatribe.
Hopefully as he gets older he will realise that his portrayed stereotype of all men being stupid and all women are highly intelligent devoted caring individuals is as daft as his personal proposed future employment policy.
Buy anything by any other writer, but don't buy this rubbish!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2003
Mr. Moore is at unease with the way thingsare going in the States. Politicians are no longer (?) honest, but crooks & play a lot of dity games. "Lobbyists" buy their influence. George W is one of the worst & is really a very, very bad person, though Al Gore (remember him?) is no sweetheart either. Very revealing if you still believed in honest politics, but not much new under the sun.
His tone of voice is agitated, indignant. His humor is direct & based on over exaggerating & playing the obvious notes. Example: How men can avoid extinction (page 155). Tip no5: learn how a toilet seat works.
Another typical (American) way of argument is to come up with a lot of (semi) convincing statistics. The books contains a lot of them, and some are interesting, but some we've seen before (in "No Logo" for instance). Also, statistics never tell all - it just how you measure rather than what you measure etc.
The most revealing/interesting is the foreword in which Mr. Moore reveals that Harper Collins pulled back from publishing the book after the 9/11 events. After going through it, Í'm not so sure whether political pressure was the only reason.
All together an interesting, but exasperating book. This book clearly divides, you love it or you'll hate it.
Don't expect vile, sarcastic English sniding comments & revealing dirty elitist complots, though, but more stand up agit humor. Like: I don't get this anymore! Is it me or is it them? The answer is ambiguous to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2005
Michael Moore, despite raising interesting comments and ideas, fails to support with any compelling evidence or experiences. Rather, Moore adopts subjective viewpoints and exploits theories central to racial tension. There are futher contradictions and holes within this 'half-baked' title that illustrates an ignorant and middle-class view. While Moore attempts to introduce comedy to political and social debates, he falls short of genuine skill and creativity in this 'ad hoc' work. The only 'Stupid White Man' is the author! Do not read,
Caveat Emptor!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2003
Michael Moore - College Dropout. George Bush - graduate of Yale and Harvard and the leader of the free world... hmm... let me think... who should I trust and who is more intelligent? This book smacks of jealousy. The blatant anti-americanism is simply a marketing tool to get sales in the UK and Europe as well as from whiney liberals in the USA. This book brings nothing new to the debate, it is just bitching, moaning and whining. However, I expect it to sell well for two reasons - one, the press love anything that ridicules america, two - the public loves anything that ridicules america. This book will not sell half as many books as leading consevaive authors, such as Sean hannity, Dinesh D'Souza, Ann Coulter or Pat Buchanan, though it will get more press attention. I dispair at the level of intellect of people buying this book...
If you have an IQ above 80 and want to read an anti-american book, read "No Logo" - a book that makes powerful and reasoned arguments against american capitalism and globalisation without resorting to bitching, moaning and name-calling.
The only good thing I can say about this book is... erm... ah yes! at least it is not by Noam Chomsky!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2003
Just being opposite to Bush.
Thta's the point, everything is against Bush, he just cannot see reality and his point of view is the TRUTH.
didn't liked it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2002
On reading this, the first question that came to my mind was: does this writer speak a foreign language? Has this writer travelled? Has this writer been educated, in any serious sense? Not much sign of it, if so. This book is culturally determined, dogmatic, old fashioned and an expression of its author's ego. Perhaps I should have mentioned: the author is not a woman. Well, I guess you saw that from the promotional literature. But the book lets you know that anyway. The funny thing about so-called radicals is their resemblance to old-fashioned "statesrights" conservatives or worse. We saw this in Europe in the 80s; lucky America gets it twenty years late. Do not buy this; borrow it from a public library; or better, look at it first, and decide not to.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2003
i really didnt like this book. all he does is whine about the "thief in chief" (bush), the florida elections and poor americans who are scraping by a living on $30,000. what an injustice?.its also quite racist towards white people .after reading this book i had no sympathy for moore or america
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse