Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 7 February 2013
I love this book. Its one of those where you keep shaking your head and saying 'the truth really IS stranger than fiction',.because if this was a fiction no one would read it for being too long, full of unbleivable characters doing things that were just so ridiculous no one would beleive it!

Right from the start, at the end of each chapter I turned the page thinking 'they must get found out now' but no! There is yet another big scam by these arrogant, irresponsible people An idiot who can add 1+1would have seen that this company was built on nothing but Enrons kept going and going.

In fact I'm going to read it again. Its totally gripping. Who needs fiction with this kind of book about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2009
The authors have done an excellent job piecing together the history of Enron. Employees of large companies may well find worrying parallels with their own employer's practices e.g. bonus schemes, performance review systems, internal politics, greed etc., and anyone investing in the stock market would do well to read it, a particular lesson being to be suspicious of "expert analysts' advice". A fascinating read that really makes the reader look at the business world in a new light. However I can't help feeling that the authors have probably been too generous to the main culprits...perhaps one eye on potential lawsuits...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2014
The first thing to say about this book is that it is superb. Superbly researched and superbly written. The pace never falters and, whilst one knows the ending, the tension builds as the tsunami of misdeeds builds and builds before finally crashing down on the famous three, Lay, Skilling and Fastow. The numbers are extraordinary. Personal enrichment isn't in the hundreds of thousands of dollars, or even millions - it's in the tens of millions. Not just life changing amounts of money, but enough to change the lives of descendants of these three for many generations. The book ends before the story does . The congressional hearings and court cases aren't covered but nevertheless this is a must read for anyone wanting to understand why light touch regulation, so in vogue in the run up to the 2008 banking collapse, will never be adequate protection for the poor, the powerless and the unwitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
Incredibly well written book.
This book is a thorough account of the rise and fall of Enron. If you enjoy business history, you will love this book.

The story telling is amazing and I really enjoyed being taken through the intricate web of characters and watching the plot unfold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2009
I can't add much to the reviews already here, but wanted to say that this book is still as important & what's more a gripping read in 2008/09 as it was when the Enron scandal was still fesh in people's minds.

Like 'when genius failed' - another excellent book - the circumstances of this story are as relevant today as they ever were and the lessons should not be forgotten. We might be in a bear market now, but the bulls (and bubbles) will return.

The books is excellently written, well-researched and does a great job of explaining a very complex accounting structure in a way that a layperson can grasp the basics of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2017
Gripping. Terrifying. Believable. I couldn't help but wonder which of the companies that presently seem so successful are Enrons-in-waiting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
Found it a riveting read despite a complex subject.
An interesting insight into how people work within the corporate environment - how they think generally
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
Really fascinating and detailed account of what went on, which tells the technical story but doesn't miss the human impact. Flew by and only issue I have is it would be good if they added a postscript chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2014
this book gives such a great insight into the enron scandal and it goes into so much detail, I didn't really know too much about enron itself or business but I was definitely well educated after reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2013
Sets out the flawed logic of the 'Bubble Market' and how Management Ego's can run riot without proper governance, and how all those complicit in the conning of shareholders - banks and auditors, all wanted a piece of the pie. Enron was a good case study of how pre-Crash conditions were already in the psychology of the market. No one was smarter than the market - eventually - but, in the meantime a lot of money was wasted. Fascinating read with the profiles of the playmakers making it a very human story too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)