Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2004
Really enjoyable and readable account of 20th centruy Indian history. Lucy Moore really brings to life the lives of her four princesses, and the worlds they inhabited. Highly reccommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
A rich colourful and adventurous book. You'll feel like you've travelled back in time to pre independent India when you read this.An informative, an insight into the policical situation and role of women in India at the time. Absolutely beautiful.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
I really want to read this book, but the kindle book is faulty. Every few pages it skips to the notes or index, and I cannot go back to the place I was at. I am so frustrated as this promised to be an interesting read. I cannot find a way to contact Amazon kindle about the fault to get a replacement. Disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
This book not only tells the (true) stories of four maharanis - it also gives a huge amount of detail about Indian history in the twentieth century, such as the relationship between the princely states and the British government and how independence affected the ruling families. It is a rather poignant look at a world that no longer exists. The book is full of quirky facts / memories which make the history of these families come alive. I have read many books on indian history but this one was very different in that it had such a strong human angle. I can't wait to visit India again - I will see places such as Jaipur very differently now that I know more about the history of its ruling family.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
I revisited this book after 8 years prompted by a trip to Rajasthan. Wonderful to see the places so vividly described in this book. An insight into the Indian fixation with alcohol, many of the male protagonists were alcoholics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
This was enjoyable and informative especially if you live in East Sussex where the families stayed and their children were educated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Fascinating book for all lovers of India , and of twentieth century history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
2nd time reading this book. Takes you back to the eras. Wonderfully written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Fantastic, well written book that was both insightful and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
A very interesting book for anyone fascinated, as I am, with India.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)