Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2003
Greenfield's book is accessible to the general reader with an interest in the field. She herself is a neuropharmacologist, but approaches this book with an open mind. her multidisciplinary approach makes for compulsive reading.
She is tackling an area that is undoubtedly an intellectual landmine. She does it with humour, and delivers an argument both persuasive and personal, both touching and scientific.
You may not agree with every point she makes, but you will definitely be glad that you gave her the chance.
One of the many things that i enjoyed about this book is the fact that it is not huge. Many books within the realm of popular science are far too dense. It is a relatively slim volume that gets striaght to the point. There is an appendix and a detailed set of end notes for those that are interested.
Fans of Antonio Damasio's The Feeling Of What Happens should enjoy this book.
11 Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2001
Susan Greenfield takes us on a wondrous journey of the brain and the chemical processes that produce thoughts and emotions. By making it relevant to our own experiences of others and ourselves she provides an understanding of how the workings of our brains make us who we are. I particularly liked the way Dr. Greenfield uses her own personal experiences to bring alive some of the beautifully written explanations.
She has connected the science of the brain and mind to the behaviour of ourselves in a way that is accessible and understandable to the non-neuroscientist (I don't even have biology GCSE). As an engineer who thinks in pictures I would have benefited from some diagrams to help me understand the structure of the brain and particularly the different fountains of modulating amines.
The excellent "notes" for each chapter gave both further qualification of the narrative and good sources of further reading. I intend to obtain at least 4 further texts on the basis of these.
I identified with her struggle as a woman in scientific research and the limiting caution of research funding bodies, both of which she underplays hugely.
A thoroughly fascinating book. If you are interested in people and science, read this book.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
I've read several books on brain science, so not a complete newcomer. However, I'm not a neuroscientist, either, and this book drew the perfect line between the two, thoroughly explaining the experiments which have led to discoveries about consciousness and what happens in an individual's brain. What's more, the concept of self is explored. I think this would be a good place to begin one's studies of the brain.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2000
Don't be put off by the subject matter; this book is extremely readable, even to non-experts. Prof Greenfield clearly illustrates some basics of neuroscience (with the use of amusing metaphors), before setting out her own theories of conciousness (which are controversial but interesting). Even to those who have some knowlegdge of the field, this book provides a lively overview, and looks at some ideas from new angles.
What spoils the book is its tendancy towards repetition, which quicky becomes wearing when one reads more than a few chapters at one sitting (for example, I'm sure many other readers will tire of the author's apparent obsession with her mortgage). A bit of editing wouldn't go amiss before the release of the paperback.
Recommended, despite its flaws.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2001
As a Neuroscience Student, I read this book as part of my course, but having read other books by Susan Greenfield, there is nothing new here. The first few chapters are interesting for people new to the subject, but much of the content can be found in other books by Greenfield - The Human Brain:A Guided Tour and Brain Story. If you already have these titles, then I wouldn't bother buying this book. There are much better titles around.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
This is simply a great read. The subject is fascinating and Susan Greenfield knows how to engage the reader. In my opinion she is up there with the best of popular science writers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Great book to read There is so much to learn about the brain and it explains it well xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
A present for an aspiring Neuroscientist. She enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Brought as a gift. I was informed it is a good book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Great book for getting an overview of how our brains work and work that still needs to be done to answer those questions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)