Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 August 2017
Fine David Crystal book as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2012
4 stars due to the terrible Kindle formatting. Pictures appear half way through paragraphs, sometimes digressions - which I assume are side-boxes in the print version - also split a paragraph in two. This can really ruin the reading experience.

Otherwise this is a well thought out and thorough explanation of the history of English. However it is likely to be outdated already, particularly on the subject of English usage on the internet. A subject which the author has covered in a separate book, presumably in more detail and more recently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2015
A wonderful history of the construction of the English language. Quite thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2017
David Crystal always interests with his wide and informed opinions and knowledge of English- the language lives!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2015
very fast delivery and came as I was expecting. Happy purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
I bought this for my English Language OU course, but it is a fascinating book anyway whether you are studying or not. David Crystal writes in a most accessible way about language. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2014
This one for my grandson filled the bill admirably. David Crystal is one of the great authorities and the book is very sensitively written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2014
An excellent book on the subject which should be standard reading in all schools
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
It's full of interesting info on the language - you'll read it quickly and fall in love with David Crystal - like many others before you....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2016
Copy arrived promptly and was exactly as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)