Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 August 2013
This has been an excellent, accessible version of the play for both myself and to use with pupils. The glossary is non-intrusive as it's located on the left hand side, in line with the word being translated, so their is minimal "Miss what does ____ mean?" Lovely abridged scene summaries are also included at the start of each new scene, which is very useful for those pupils who get a little overwhelmed by Shakespeare's language or those who are prone to giving up before even starting. A worthwhile investment, I cannot rate Oxford School editions highly enough.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
I do not think that you can beat these editions of the plays because the text is clearly set out, in quite large print, and brief notes and explanations typed on the same page as the text, so that it saves the hassle of turning to the back pages when required. The introductions about setting, plot, and character are so useful for exam work. I now have about six of these plays in the same series, and I cannot fault them. The newer editions also give ideas for pupils' assignments for better understanding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
I bought this edition of the Tempest for my English GCSEs, and so far I have found it very helpful to my studies. The edition contains the complete text of the play and thorough notes on the language alongside the text- an absolute must if you want to have a good understanding of the play as a young student. You can refer to the list of main characters to erase any confusion,and there are thorough introductions to each scene at the beginning, perfect for gaining an overview of every part of the play. If you're studying The Tempest, this edition is great for you as the notes and summary will be of enormous help to gaining a deep and comprehensive understanding of the play.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
The No Fear series is invaluable to my teaching and brings Shakespeare alive for my students. After reading a very simple version of the plays we move to No Fear text and tackle Shakespeare head on! If you have always dreaded reading Shakespeare then check these out and dive into the Bards best loved tales. As for The Tempest, my most favourite tale of all by William!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This is a brilliant edition of The Tempest, including the history of the play and its adaptations, complete with pictures. The actual script itself is superb - the play itself runs along one side of the page with various notes explaining the meanings of words and speeches, the way it should be delivered and on occasion the way the audience would have reacted. A brilliant version, essential for understanding The Tempest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Not a favourite but enjoyed it. Read before I saw it which I usually do but watching is far better and gives more substance to the text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Having studied The Tempest many years ago at A Level, all I can say is that I wish this book had existed then. The "translation" is printed directly opposite the original text and makes straight reading of the play very easy indeed - no more turning to the back of the book for notes, or constantly referring to footnotes. Of course, if you're studying the play in depth you'll need much more guidance on Shakespeare's subtleties, double meanings, use of prose v poetry etc. etc. However, you'll still get enjoyment and understanding from this book, giving you a solid platform on which to build. Use it alongside (say) the RSC's excellent complete works and you'll soon find yourself appreciating and understanding the Bard's language like never before.

Some may find the translation too American here and there, but "The Tempest" is a wonderful work and anything that makes it more accessible to a wider public gets my vote.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
With the emphasis in exams on the play in performance, this edition is invaluable. The notes take you through all the directorial and artistic decisions behind RSC productions and has interviews with directors. It makes comparisons between different interpretations in performance. It also has very useful critical interpretations and contextual information and explanations of the meaning. For me it is an ideal edition for A Level. I have also found other plays in this series really useful for GCSE and A Level coursework and exam preparation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Good review and analysis of the play for an A level student, however you will need other resources and not just this one for a better picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Just wish I had the actors to make it work!
A play that seems to be ful of simplicity with a big question at the core: why-ever would anyone suppose that the hero of this piece is Prospero. 'Tis Caliban who is the innocent savage, greeting all newcomers with hospitality and kindness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here