Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 March 2015
The book was partly easy to read, partly, especially the passages of heavy religious content, less appealing for me. It is a classic that was at first banned, which is hard to understand with our enlightened thinking, but overall I was pleased to have continued and persevered to the end, as the whole seemed worthy of it's time, and sections were 'modern' and descriptive, if a little overstated, here and there with repetition of certain passages, that was meant, for emphasis perhaps, but over egged ...somewhat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2016
Excellent condition and a pleasant-looking edition. Lawrence was doing something interesting with the novel form, creating a sense of the inner lives of his characters, so refreshingly different to today's popular fiction where the characters hve no inner lives whatsoever. Could a novel like this be pubished today? Discuss!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
Bought this as a present for my younger brother, who is an English M.A. He was thoroughly satisfied with it and said it came in very handy for revision and reference purposes. Here's hoping he passes! :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Worth reading this in conjunction with Women in Love so that you get the complete stories of Ursula and Gudrun, the two sisters and the central characters of the two novels. So much has been written about Lawrence and I am not intellectually competent enough to introduce any new thoughts on his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Too slow for me. Parts were good but was a bit bored with the book and couldn't finish it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
One of my favourite books - part mystical part drama, The Rainbow has it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
An interesting but often puzzling read. The most dramatic chapter for me was Ursula's disastrous time as a teacher put upon by students and staff alike. worth a read but persistence needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
Good value and a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
So difficult to read in parts and yet so rewarding for the passages (especially the final chapter) which are amongst the greatest in the english language. The first few pages are erotic in the very best sense of the word and set the scene for much of what follows. Be aware that the middle section gets quite heavy going, but persevere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I bought this book as a gift for a 97 year old as it was published in the year she was born, and I was making up a package themed upon that. She loved it and the idea was a great success.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse