Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
75
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2017
If your ever have 'Troubles and woes, From your ears to your toes' this is the book for you

Hilarious as all the rest in the series. Beautifully illustrated and nice rhymes.

Reading them to children you can add noises for cats, parrots, goats, dogs etc. My kids all loved them (18 year old has asked for them for Xmas) - if you don't have kids - don't miss out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Any book by Lynley Dodd is great. The grandchildren love the escapades that these little cats and dogs get up to. Nice to read to them too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Again a super read ,grandson loved it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
This was a gift and perfect for the child
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
I like the bit where the vet says I will fix this then she trips over the dog lead. Harry age 6
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the 1991 re-issue of the original book in paperback with card covers. The books runs to a total of 32 pages.

I'm collecting the Lynley Dodd series of 'Hairy Maclary' for my grandson. He loves them. The illustrations are gorgeous, really bright, funky colours than draw younger children straight in. For me though it's more about the rhyming story. I love reading these books at bedtime they're ideal. He nods his head up and down in time to the rhyme and it's so cute. Each of the books in the series have a story that's simple yet deep enough they hold his interest. He's only two and a bit but he learns the words really fast and can often repeat them with me even when he's not looking at the pictures. Great characters and a perfect read for small children (and grandparents!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2003
This is a work of pure genius. It is a great favourite among all my family and friends. Combining a scintilating plot with Dodd's clear mastery of poetic technique makes for an unforgettable read. The parrot and hairy dog are both hilarious. I would recommend this masterpiece to anyone!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Much enjoyed by 3 year old grand-daughter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
We like this book, but not nearly as much as we enjoy the original or Slinky Malinky. It lacks the repetition our daughter enjoys about the other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2003
The Hairy Maclarey books have it all, beautiful illustrations, funny stories which captivate small children, and a rhythm to the verse which makes them a joy for parents to read too. This story builds the chaos of a group of animals running amok at the vets beautifully, ending with a twist which brings you right back to the beginning again. Buy one and you will find yourself coming back for the others!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse