Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
161
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Arrived promptly, bought this for a friend but would definitely buy a copy for me. The content is thorough and the print is of good size. I liked that the fact that the thesaurus had a dust jacket. Good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Was in a very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
This edition replaced my battered 1962 version and is predictably much more comprehensive including many new words and phrases. Its layout is much clearer with better spacing but the format is essentially the same. The main innovation is the introduction of literary quotations and text boxes. The latter includes lists of cheeses, cocktails, wines and grapes, chemical elements and terms used in particle physics; all essential for crossword addicts. I am not sure of the value of "It is quite a three-pipe problem" (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) under 459 Enquiry but the quotes add interest to searches. Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
Before buying this I read several reviews, but missed a vital point. It is clearly well organised for assisting with speech or creative writing, but this makes it a bit tricky to navigate if all you really want is lists of alternative words.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
I've just bought this book (as a replacement for my previous edition, also from Penguin Reference), and I'm sorry to say that my first impression is not good. I immediately discovered, in the section for the word 'accede', that the standard usage of the word as in 'to accede to a throne' (i.e., to assume an office, etc) has disappeared. Not a good omen. Also, the word 'sláinte' is misspelled, though (in fairness) it must be said that there is an improvement on the old edition, which, in this instance, had two mistakes in the word - this has now been reduced to one...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Very much better laid out than my rather old (tattered) copy. once got around the changes could find synonyms a lot easier
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
vg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
Bought this to expand vocabulary. Can't find most words I usually. Back to internet word treasuries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
This book is ok Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Marvellous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)