Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
164
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Arrived promptly, bought this for a friend but would definitely buy a copy for me. The content is thorough and the print is of good size. I liked that the fact that the thesaurus had a dust jacket. Good buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
super v good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
No library is complete without one. This is an excellent thesaurus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Was in a very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
This edition replaced my battered 1962 version and is predictably much more comprehensive including many new words and phrases. Its layout is much clearer with better spacing but the format is essentially the same. The main innovation is the introduction of literary quotations and text boxes. The latter includes lists of cheeses, cocktails, wines and grapes, chemical elements and terms used in particle physics; all essential for crossword addicts. I am not sure of the value of "It is quite a three-pipe problem" (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) under 459 Enquiry but the quotes add interest to searches. Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
Before buying this I read several reviews, but missed a vital point. It is clearly well organised for assisting with speech or creative writing, but this makes it a bit tricky to navigate if all you really want is lists of alternative words.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
I've just bought this book (as a replacement for my previous edition, also from Penguin Reference), and I'm sorry to say that my first impression is not good. I immediately discovered, in the section for the word 'accede', that the standard usage of the word as in 'to accede to a throne' (i.e., to assume an office, etc) has disappeared. Not a good omen. Also, the word 'sláinte' is misspelled, though (in fairness) it must be said that there is an improvement on the old edition, which, in this instance, had two mistakes in the word - this has now been reduced to one...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Very much better laid out than my rather old (tattered) copy. once got around the changes could find synonyms a lot easier
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
vg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)