Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

True to its name, this book gives plenty of English idioms with definitions, examples of use in a sentence and a clue as to their tone where necessary. Under "dry as a bone" it defines normal use and suggests the humorous application when someone wants an alcoholic drink very badly but, if you forget where this idiom is, it is hard to find it again in the index because it appears under "bone" but not under "dry." The index is necessary because the editor/authors have decided to group the idioms in sections rather than merely alphabetically: colours, weather, time, life and death etc. The index needed to find a particular idiom takes several pages and is incomplete, as I have suggested. I am not sure which reader would require this arrangement: a writer on a certain topic would not need a list of cliches and a student of English would want the most direct route to an expression. There are bound to be omissions but I was surprised that, with four definitions of 'hot spot' (not listed in the index so I couldn't find it to check that I am right), it didn't give the wi-fi meaning, surely now very common. I think this is more a book to read, savour and enjoy rather than a reference tool.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
I am fascinated by languages and the use of idioms and colloquiums, and in particular how they came about. To that end, this book was a disappointment, as the origins of many idioms have not been explained, for example: "Pig in a poke". This saying was born in medieval times, where some "fly-by-night" market traders would display healthy little piglets, which could be purchased and carried home in a bag (poke) "kindly" provided by the vendor. However, whilst the customer was distracted, the wily trader would stuff a worthless cat into the bag. The tort was not discovered until such time as the unfortunate purchaser returned home; when the cat was let out of the bag! The book does go some way towards explaining the origin of pig in a poke, but for some reason fails link it with letting the cat out of the bag.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Have used this alot with my primary class. It's organised well for quick location of idioms. Huge range and clear explanations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
This is a Great Reference Book with a Huge Selection of Idioms.
An Idiom is a Set of Phrases that is used colloquially as a language and as a manner of speaking. However, the true value of some Idioms maybe invalid in today's climate or lost as language, technology and time changes - like the English half penny.

The Idiom talks about not having '2' pennies to rub together', but Cockney Slang, poverty and a knowledge of the history of English coins dictates that that Idiom was born at a time when English currency still used 'half-a-penny', 'half-a-crown', two-and-a-half shillings' (the sixpence or tanner). Therefore the Idiom should read 'not having 'two half pennies' to rub together or in Cockney Slang terms not having 'tu'pence'ha'pny' to rub together.

I suspect that this has been modernised to connect with the USA's 'two cents worth', especially as the English coins no longer accommodates or recognises the monetary value of halves - (so to speak).

The Contents Page is arranged into Categories by Subject Matter at the front of the book.
There is an Index at the back of the book to help you tailor your studies to suit your personal needs.

Thank You!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
obvious - no derivation info
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
bought as a gift
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2003
I find this new edition most useful and entertaining as well. The examples used are very helpful, carefully researched and documented. I book worth to be recommended to native speakers as well as to foreigners.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
I bought this for my son's Russian girlfriend- her English is excellent but she is often baffled by idioms - now the cat is really out of the bag for her and she loves it.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In my job as a copywriter, this has turned out to be a pretty useful book. It's packed full of the sayings or 'Idioms' you've been hearing all your life, and is organised in a way that's intuitive and easy to use. It'll save you time wracking your brains for ideas when you write, as well as explain to you exactly what sayings like 'give a dog a bad name and hang him' (for example) mean.

Each entry gives an explanation and example of use, and all entries are organised in categories for extra easy reference - which are: Colours, Elements, Weather, Time, Life & Death, Trees & Plants, Animals, Birds, Fish, Insects, Body, Mind, Illness & Ailments, Relations, Town & Around, The House, Furniture & Household Articles, Food, Clothes, Ships, The World And Its Places, Languages & Nationalities, Names, Monarchy & Parliament, War & Peace, Weapons, Tools, Numbers, School & Education, Work & Occupations, Money & Valuables, Games & Sports, Music & Theatre, Word & Words.

So, if you're writing a piece on a certain subject (for instance I was writing something the other based on colours) you can simply flick to that section a find all the sayings and idioms you could ever want to on the subject. Also, there is an index so you can look up individual words - this too is laid out in a way that is very quick and easy to use. For example, let's suppose you need a saying that uses the word 'String'. A quick glance in the index and you will see:

String, a second string to one's bow 258/1; harp on the same s.315/10; have someone on a s. 320/13

So you see, you not only get a list of all the saying in the book that use the word string (so you don't have to look up each one individually), you also get directions to the entries should you find a saying you're not familiar with and are unsure what it means... Again, taking the above example - I'm sure most of us are familiar with the idioms and meanings of ' a second string to one's bow' and 'to have someone on a string', but what about 'harp on the same string'?

A quick flick to page 315 - and a read of entry number 10 on that page reveals:

10. to harp on the same string - to make the same point over and over again. 'I wish you wouldn't harp on the same string every time I light a cigarette. I know smoking is bad for your health but I won't give up!'

All in all, a worthwhile and very useful and accessible tool for working writers or people with an interest or love of language. Around 377 pages in length I can see this getting as much use as my Rhyming Dictionary - another item I couldn't live with out: Collins Rhyming Dictionary

The front cover of this book sums it up nicely... from cloud nine to seventh heaven.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
I am happy with the product. Thx!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)