Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2007
Larry Trask was one of the greatest contemporary writers on linguistics and grammar, and all his books are packed with lucid, complete, and often very witty descriptions. The cover of this book claims that it shows "How to use English correctly". This is perhaps misleading, because the book is not principally a usage guide. (Two other books by Trask - "Mind the Gaffe" and "The Penguin Guide to Punctuation - do provide solid, clear guidance on writing; anyone looking for instruction on how to write well should get hold of copies of these books first - they are indispensable.) The "Dictionary of English Grammar" contributes to better writing in a more indirect way. It provides succinct and clear definitions of terms and concepts, many of them quite technical, that are used to describe English grammar. In so doing it "enables us to see how language works and how to use it in the right ways" (from the back cover). Despite running to only 148 pages, the book is pretty comprehensive, and just as important it is contemporary. Authorities on English grammar often use terms and concepts in different and conflicting ways, and this can leave the student perplexed and irritated. A major value of Trask's book is that it summarizes these differences; for example, traditional and more recent definitions of "clause" are both explained. So if you have been confused by the varied terminologies used in different sources, this book will provide invaluable help in resolving your questions. This book is a handy reference for anyone interested in the structure of English and the vocabulary used to describe it. But be warned; this is a dictionary of grammatical terms, not a grammar. It makes an ideal partner to a student grammar (such as Longman), but it is not a substitute for one.
Incidentally, the earlier reviewer who was made cross by the use of "who" in an object position would do well to read the entry under "Objective" on page 92, and better still should look up the entry under "Whom" in "Mind the Gaffe" (p296).
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
A beautiful book! I've made an effort to improve my English lately; having read this cover-to-cover I've learnt so much in a short-space of time! This book gets straight to the point, with just the perfect amount written for each section.

Now i dnt ned 2 ryte lik dis ne mor!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Being a grammar pendant, although you may not think it reading my reviews!, I love this book. Great layout and easily understood explanations. Highly recommended for students of all ages or interested parties
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2002
This book explores the elementry aspects of English Grammar, word class etc but at a higher level and using different tests than what your average A level student will be used to, a great introduction to degree level linguistics and useful extra reading for A level students who are looking for the top grade.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
This book is brilliant for keeping on hand to look up terms. I found it particularly useful when wanting to reference definitions for my university coursework. I use it all the time - I couldnt do my grammar module without it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2003
What a waste of money! I was somewhat surprised to find as early as page 2 a glaring grammatical mistake - "Younger than who" - surely should be "younger than whom". And how about this for a clear explanation - 'this means - "the book which the professor who the students who failed their exams complained about is hard to understand" '. Rather than clarifying English Grammar, this book would lead to confusion and error.
22 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This book is very useful for any students studying English language. It provides clear definitions and examples for many key words and concepts related to English grammar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
A good tool for those studying English, but difficult for those with less understanding. Good for more advanced terminology and understanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
This is probably one of the most unecessary books I have ever had the misfortune to purchase and at an RRP of GBP7.99 it is a rip-off.

First, this is a DICTIONARY of words relating to English grammar. This escaped my attention when I brought it and I regret it. It literally simply defines words like "main verb". You might as well just get a normal dictionary and use that if you want a dictionary of words relating to English grammar.

Second, what you are probably looking for is Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage. This is excellent in terms of guiding you on grammar and usage. Alternatively, you can use a punctuation book. This book, however, is one of the most pointless and I've never had occasion to use it.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Thanks -- is fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)