Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
9
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2013
Very disappointed with the quality of paper used in this paperback, but even more so the font size is too small for comfortable reading. To say I am disappointed is an understatement.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 October 2011
Unable to find the Book Club Associates hardcover edition which I have, I am writing this under the Penguin edition in the hope that it might find its way there eventually.

Written in 1942, it is exactly what it says on the cover "A Guide to Good English"; it was written to supplement H.W. Fowler's "Modern English Usage" which set the standard for others to follow.

Organised in alphabetical order, it contains a wealth of information, advice and suggestions to improve English usage. As one reviewer suggests, it may seem out-dated to many modern readers but that does not mean it is outmoded. There are obviously aspects of English which have changed over the years since its publication but it continues to set a standard for accurate and aesthetic uses of English. It is obviously a reference book rather than one to sit down and read but the latter approach pays dividends on occasions for students and others required to use English accurately.

A blast from the past? Perhaps but interesting nevertheless.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Content itself is very helpful but the quality of the book is only average - it has started to fall apart already
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Whilst the content may be great, what is the point if you can't read all the pages because you have failed to bind the book correctly, guillotine so that some pages are still joined; and send out to retailers without any form of quality control. Come on Penguin, we expect better.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2000
This fine tome is a must for anyone who cares about the state of English Language. Yet, despite laudable intentions indeed, the standard (for example, where does the apostrophe go when referring to Xerses' army?)is now almost laughably high!
All of this is not to undervalue the power and use of such a book, and there is a good sense of humour in every entry:
"Gent, 'a gentleman', is an illiteracy except when it applies to such a man as might be expected to use the word."
I would thoroughly recommend this book and propose that readers dip into it frequently. They will be educated, amused and delighted.
22 Comments| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
The ideal book for anyone who wishes to rid themselves of the fear of boring others. Less is more being it's motto. Pocket sized, so ideal for having on hand at all times.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
IF you can find what you are after it is very, very good. Not that easy to identify where what you want actually is. NOT a quick reference book but if you have the time to search, on the occasions that I have, it is comprehensive. I'd say more Study than Reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
It is a good book, but the product seems not a decent quality - with several cuts in many pages. I would like to request for a replacement but Amazon only provides refund. Guess I have to stick to this sub-optimal item.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)