Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This dictionary does exactly what it says: it gives plenty of synonyms for English words, suggesting when they are informal in usage. Where it is less strong is on antonyms, usually offering one at the most. In this it is less thorough than ths slightly larger Oxford version which also has useful alphabetical marks down the side to make finding a word easier. The Penguin gives, for example, under "tight" fourteen synonyms for the usual sense and its opposite "loose", six for miserly with money and the opposite "generous", four more for the sense of sealed but no antonyms and five for the informal use meaning drunk with the opposite "sober". My guess is that most people want synonyms but, if that is not your case, I'd go for the Oxford.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
text content is fine. Regrettably the quality of stock used for the cover paper is way too flimsy. For a book destined for frequent use this is a poor design decision.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
I'm happy with the goods I bought, it's what I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
very nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Useful and easy to use reference, good for quick referrals but you still need a thesaurus in your life. Yes you do. I live alone and often feel the need to argue with myself so this book is indispensable to me. Although sometimes it's dispensable. (You see, you do need a Thesaurus)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
I bought this book for a Hungarian friend who wants to improve her English; she has found it useful for expanding her vocabulary and I have also enjoyed browsing. I would recommend this book for anyone (English speaker or foreign learner)who wishes to enlarge their vocabulary.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2011
Great book for helping me do my crosswords. Excellent price - and delivered promptly and free of charge by Amazon.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
This is a great family resource. I bought this book to help with my poetry writing but my wife took possession of it to write her dissertation! The boys also find it very useful (one writes short stories, the other writes poetry). To avoid conflict over this very useful resource, I ordered for another copy.

I recommend this book to anyone who does any kind of writing! And that's practically everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
A very well received present.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)