Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2016
Very interesting material and very well written. Probably more appreciated though by the grandparent generation as she mentions characters well known in the past and younger readers would perhaps have no idea who they were. I found it easy to read and so enjoyable that I was sorry to finish it. Reminiscent of Downton Abbey and Upstairs,Downstairs, it tells the story of food and drink from about the Edwardian times up to between the two world wars and one can imagine scenes around the table or being prepared in the kitchens etc. Arabella's recipes are lovely and worth marking . Would make a great gift for older relatives I would think or younger ones just to show that yes, there was a time when we really did have servants and had other food apart from ' fast food ' at McDonald's !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
This book is informative and well thought out. It contains lots of good recipes which are simple to make and filling for the family, with lots of old favourites in all categories. No fancy full-page pictures, but the sections contain information about the reasons behind the recipes, giving a good description of the life of the times. Anyone who enjoyed the Victorian Garden and the Victorian Kitchen will find it fascinating as well as practical.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Really interesting book from a historical point of view - Arabella Boxer writes very well. I am not sure I would make any of the recipes but it is a good read for anyone interested in English food.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Arabella Boxer's Book of English Food is a culinary jewel. It presents the best of upper class English food from the inter-war period. The recipes are well documented and provide a glimpse into another world, a time of cooks and mistresses - and an era when more cooking was done by the hostess. It is a fascinating, mothwatering read. I would highly recommend it. Bon apetit.

Paul Cleave
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
Informed and lively account of upper middle class English food between the wars, written by someone with actual memories of that period as a child, and extensive research into contemporary books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Wow, was given an Arabella Boxer book for my 21st birthday in 1968 loved it then still use it, so I was thrilled to get this one I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
This book should be available on the national health a potpourri of totally scrumptious recipes that are relevant to this day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
FiIIs an important patriotic gap
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
Arrived as described. All Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
genius
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)