Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 October 2015
Amazing read. I chuckle sometimes at the conversations. The book was used but a used book is sometimes the best because you know it was loved more than once.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2012
This is specifically a review of the Kindle edition.

Content-wise, the translation is amazing, and the notes are excellent - it's a highly recommended book.

Notes on the transfer to Kindle: There are some very nice touches here, like the fact that the end-noted notes are linked to wherever they occur in the text. This makes it very easy to "flip" back and forth between notes and text. This has not been done on some other Hackett publishing Kindle transfers, so beware.

The 3 stars is because of the section referencing. Standard referencing of sections in plato looks like "554c8" - that is section 554, subsection c, line 8. In the paperback version this is easily flipped to, but the text contains the information in the margins, and is split out as above: look up section 554, then search down for subsection c.

In the kindle edition, as the section referenced aren't in the margins but incorporated into the text, it would have been useful if they had always included the letter with the section reference - in square brackets or something similar. [554c] - this would have facilitated faster lookups. It sounds like a minor point, but if you are buying this text for study purposes, you often have to flip between many sections, and having to turn pages to find the right subsection is a pain.

Still, some thought has been given to the transfer, so it's not all bad.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2016
This edition has a really helpful introduction section which goes through each of the books that make up Plato's Republic. These illuminate the reader as to what to expect and give great insight into the concepts of the Republic as a whole. I recommend to anyone who has little experience of philosophy or Plato's writing not to skip this section. A good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2017
I have always been fascinated with Philosophy & in particular with it's founder Plato. I really enjoyed reading the in-depth information about the early teachings of Philosophy. The more you read on the more it gets more interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2017
Certainly elements here pertain to our present state in the West. A classic and a must if you are interested in political landscapes and the rise of new populist ideology
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2014
I do not know the original Greek, but this is a good translation and well formatted for the kindle. It even comes with a lengthy introduction (almost half the book), though this I have not read and thus can't pass comment on. This is all the more astounding given that it is free.

I assume most people looking for the Republic will have an idea what they are getting, but I will say that reading this proved to me that in order to understand a great thinker one must read his own words. Others' accounts are, as I think Plato would say, but shadows of the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2014
This book contains a number of inquisitive outlooks on not only government, and how to approach it successfully, but also on the many questions and issues concerned with life, death and morality. A deeply thoughtful experience and a very long what at that. I recommend this book for its mind expansive qualities, poetic descriptions and examples that attempt to clarify the philosophical ideas presented in Plato's writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2016
Received this copy which wasn't the one advertised. Struggling to use it because the print is too small
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
And this is an interesting translation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
The translation is good, the intro is also good, the ebook version is great for students who dont want to carry 20 heavey textbooks. Would recommend. However, if you do not explicitly need the Sachs version, you can get so many translations of the Republic for FREE so you can save £10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)