Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
131
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2013
Having been disappointed with the recent RSC adaptation I wanted to go back to source. This is a much more gogent and better structured story but like much of it's era errs on the side of wordy. Still worth the effort and more good than not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
Good read for adults - I bought it to provide a wider range of reading for my teen daughter but it is a bit brutal so I have shelved it for a few years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Perfect for my English Literature degree and great value for money for a student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
Did not realise that the print would be so small and difficult to read. Would have bought a more expensive copy had I known. This print size is only for young eyes and an attempt to save paper but it causes problems for some readers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Book was in terrible condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I purchased this Kindle version to use as reference for a proposed dissertation for my MA in translation. It has proved easy to use in the Kindle version and a useful purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Excellent stories at a good price but a long wait for the book . I was forewarned though so I made the choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
An extraordinary tale with many unpleasant events. One wonders how it can become the basis for Bernstein's popular opera
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I'm convinced that Voltaire is responsible for the above - the whole thing is a scream - luxury - going through the desert we were starved and we had to cut off my left buttock to eat to survive - this is comedy at it's best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse