Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 August 2015
If you want to understand how people in the Renaissance thought, then you need to study the subjects they did. It is a great shame that the classics are not taught in school any longer. However, the Penguin Classics series goes a long way to fill the gaps for those wanting to understand the way art develops. Ovid's works are other key texts because they inspired so much of the work of the Renaissance masters before the Counter Reformation.

This book replaces my falling to bits version I've had for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
This is utterly brilliant, and the wonderful cast includes Toby Stephens as Aeneas. It reminds me of Andrew Rissik's 3-part BBC radio drama, "Troy" - and why on earth haven't they released that on audio? DOH!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
This is a translation by Michael Oakley and is in the form of a poetry translation and not a prose narrative. There is a good Introduction, and at the end are comprehensive but manageable Notes referenced from the text and a Glossary. I am only competent to say that the translation appears a good one because it is so readable and involving, but I have no idea of how it stacks up against the vey many translations available.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Fantastic book and it came in amazing condition - very pleased with the quality. It takes a while to come, but they warn you about this and it still came before the deadline so I'm VERRY HAPPY.

The book is not for the faint-hearted though - it's a hard book and I originally read it as part of my Class Civ A-level and wanted to have my own copy to re-read whenever I wanted. Great for history (especially ancient and mythology) buffs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
An excellent version of Virgil's Aeneid. The prose makes it easy and pleasant to read and flows like poetry. Much more accessible and enjoyable than other attempts to translate it into verse, much of which is clumsy and stilted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
Interesting but, as been mentioned before, not useful for A level revision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Set text book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Everyone should read this! Definitely a classic in humanity's literary history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
All these books are very good value for the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse