Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 December 2017
Many translations actually aren’t, they are interpretations according to the views of the author and many are thus almost novels. This is a very good translation of archaic Italian [a language most Italians can’t even read –much like Chaucer is to English]. Originally written as ‘On Principalities’, this was intended as a gift that was meant to ingratiate Niccolo with the dominate family [whoever they ended up being, for its recipient was not the original it was intended for].
The first 38 pages are a useful authors introduction, but it is the 16 pages of the Translators note that are of most benefit. Both explain how Machiavelli has been much maligned and misinterpreted in the past –I agree. Most conceptions of Machiavelli stem from ‘anti-Catholic’ sentiment as in Gentillet’ ‘Discours contre Machiavel’ and the numerous renaissance plays that were becoming popular entertainment. The translator tries to get an understanding of the period and attempts to translate words according to their ‘olde worlde’ meaning; rather than their modern usage.
Machiavelli’ uses large amounts of punctuation and a fractured writing style that modern writers often cannot or do not understand. It’s a style that I was brought up with and doesn’t cause me much of a problem. This version uses a more flowing style that is easy to read whilst still maintaining the message that Niccolo was trying to convey and also picks up on the ribald ’language’ of the day.
Essentially this is a modern easy read that maintains, IMHO, one of the best attempted translations or modern renderings of a much misunderstood work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEHALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 14 January 2016
In case this automatically gets cross posted on this site I should point out that this review is for the kindle version of the Wisehouse Classics edition. I have read this book many times over the years and have just now re-read it once again as it is the next choice for my local book group. Although I do have a lovely hardback version of this I downloaded this particular book when I came across it whilst browsing, as it was on promo. You do have an active table of contents here, the actual book, and then a couple of extras that you don’t always get in versions of this, these are an account of Duke Valentino and his actions, and a piece on the life of Castruccio Castracani of Lucca. There is also a very good introduction here and notes as well, making this a great book to download and keep.

Over the years Machiavelli’s surname has been used as something rather negative, but to be honest it wasn’t always like that, and if you read this and think about it this does not come across. Machiavelli lived in turbulent times, not only just in Italy but throughout Europe, meaning that he had a lot to draw on when writing this short book of political philosophy. He had an acute eye for detail and an understanding of history, so he could see the same mistakes being made time and time again. He also knew human nature, and let’s face it whatever new technologies and ideas we come up with we as such will never change.

We see and hear politicians going on about ideals and what they are going to do for our betterment, but this will always fall short due to reality, and despite this still going on today Machiavelli made no bones in his discourses as he tells us about the real world, real problems and real ways to go about trying to find an answer. Some have argued that this is a satire, but I don’t think so, it is just one man trying to make sense and bring some sort of order to what was going on around him. You don’t have to agree with what is written here, that is the point that I think a lot of people seem to overlook. Like any philosophical work this is meant to make you think and for you to look around you at problems and see what can be done about them.

This book doesn’t skirt around the issue of war, after all we all know at times it is inevitable, and this does tackle that, and other issues. This is still controversial in many ways with what is discussed here, and some people seem to think it is about self-aggrandizing and becoming the top man, but it isn’t. Machiavelli shows us here the problems of being a real statesman and trying to hold a state together as a cohesive whole through the inevitable thick and thin. This personally I always think is a book that should be read by everyone as it gives you a greater understanding of what is going on around you in the world today, and indeed will still be the same in centuries to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2013
The infamous Niccolo and his famous work. I purchased this book for my Politics course at University and Machiavelli was the first thinker we studied this year, with this book being the focus.

Remember, the "Prince" is someone who holds a position of power, or is destined to or wishes to hold a position of power, and the book is the manifesto that that individual must adhere to in order to attain and sustain power.

You can understand why The Prince continues to take people by surprise, but with an open mind you can understand where Machiavelli is coming from, although most people would disagree with the slightly barbaric tone that runs throughout.

A vital book to own for any political thinker, student or someone who simply holds an interest in political theory and history or even the history of Italy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2018
I have wanted a copy of this in an English translation for years. Historically, it's advice to Princes is only equalled by Sun Tzu's Art of War. King Henry VII and Duchess Anne de Bretagne both had copies in their Libraries, according to inventories of their assets made after their respective deaths. Very relevant to my English, late-medieval re-enactment period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2017
The Prince is a perceptive, profound and deeply honest representation of the human conditions -- good and bad. The observations, although carried out a few centuries ago, are timeless and somewhat disconcerting. However, the book provides an unparalleled insight into the workings of society and how one could navigate them and leave his/her imprint, so that after the expiration of his/her on this world the memories of that person are indelibly imprinted on the collective memories of those that come after him/her.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2012
Niccolo Machiavelli's book was written in the mid 16th century; this is a later translation from the 17th century converted into ebook format. There are a couple of issues with the format on the Kindle; some missing page breaks, and some odd sentence breaks. The ebook version also includes a couple of additional items written by Machiavelli later in his life.

"The Prince" of the title is merely a generic label for a leader, rather than a given level of nobility. The main book is a study of the concept of leadership, and particularly the application of politics within a nation or state. It is based upon a very careful study of the leaders of the time, especially within Italy and from the classical period of Greece and Rome. Although written some 500 years ago, most of the precepts can be seen to have been relevant throughout the intervening period and in many ways are still pertinent today.

In fact some of the material could equally be applied within large organisations; examine the biographies of some of the most famous business leaders and entrepeneurs, and you will see many of the factors that enabled them to rise up being the same that Machiavelli identified as being desirable in a great leader. It does perhaps portray a certain level of cynicism and certainly indicates the ruthlessness that is required to become a political figure; and it is this that has made the name of Machiavelli synonymous with political intrigue.

In many ways, this book is to political governance, what Sun-Tzu's "Art of War" was to the concept of military leadership. Careful study will reveal a lot of valuable advice and information; and although not the easiest book to read, the end result is well worth the effort.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
I read this book because so many other people have praised it, and because so many other writers refer to it. I wasn't as impressed as I expected to be, because I had higher expectations. Yes, it was a controversial work once, and it's influence is so profound, you could hardly ignore it. I'd love to say it widened my horizons and deepened my understanding, but as it was, I got through it and said to myself "Well, at least I can say I have read it now."

PS - His History of Florence on the other hand was a real eye-opener!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
Worth every penny and more, aesthetically it is a very pretty book, and the content itself is a fascinating and insightful read. It provides you with a clear insight into the realm of real politics and its brutality whilst simultaneously giving an interesting historical insight.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2013
This fascinating, elegant book was based on a terrible time for Italy when the Borgias ruled the Vatican, blood engulfed the peninsula and Leonardo was managing to keep out of trouble and was painting the Last Supper. Machiavelli deeply admired the rampaging Cesare Borgia and describes him as "a man of great courage and high intentions, and he could not have conducted himself other than the way he did". Five hundred years later, Italy still reels under factionalism and mistrust and Silvio Berlusconi would be described by some in the same terms that Machiavelli used for the ruthless Borgia. To admire such people, Machiavelli was realistic rather than amoral. As he says, "the fact is that a man who wants to act virtuously in every way necessarily comes to grief among so many who are not virtuous". He is telling us that we are naive if we think we leave ourselves open to other people. Being kind and generous, he explains, can get you into big trouble (and five hundred years ago that could mean ending up dead). As he says: "one can be hated just as much for good deeds as for evil ones". Recently tortured and imprisoned himself, Machiavelli knew the risks that he was writing about. But despite all that he writes in a chipper tone. As has been said before, The Prince could serve as a guide to modern office politics as well as being a survival guide in blood-thirsty times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
This is excellence. The translation is fluent and clear. This book should be read in schools, on streets, at houses, shortly everywhere and everyday. A very honest and realistic account of how politics actually works, very differently from how we all desperately expect and wish it to work. I shall say no more because the writing on Niccolo Machiavelli's grave already gives an answer to my passionate desire to praise this gentleman: TANTO NOMINI NULLUM PAR ELOGIUM (with such a name, there is no need for eulogy).
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)