Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
20
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
8
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2017
best, excellent, satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
Cicero perhaps doesn't need introducing. He was a powerful politician of the last decades of the Roman Republic, the 70s to the 40s BC. Originally a lawyer and an orator, he made his name prosecuting corrupt figures of the senatorial establishment, before joining the conservative camp against the populist tribunes and against Caesar. Cicero was consul in 63BC. His writings are massive and are one of the period's key historical sources, even if obviously not unbiased. He also wrote a set of philosophical treatises.

This edition contains only a tiny portion of the 800 or so letters, countless speeches, works on the constitution, on laws, and on moral questions that Cicero produced. The selection, furthermore, is problematic. The editors have labelled the larger section, comprising political texts, 'Against Tyranny' (which they also call, anachronistically, 'totalitarianism'). This section includes the Verrine indictment and speeches in defiance of Marc Antony, glossing over Cicero's switching to the side of Verres' friends in the intervening decades. Moreover, the editors avoid mention of Cicero's contentious role, as consul, in using extra-judicial means to repress the Catilinarian conspiracy. The Catilinarian speeches, perhaps his best known, are essential to an honest portrait of Cicero's politics; they are missing from this edition. The philosophical, second section likewise aims to portray Cicero as a grand old moral figure, comprising only On Duties and On Old Age. It misses fancier but interesting essays such as On Divination (Cicero was also an augur, an official soothsayer) and On the Nature of the Gods. The selection of letters, finally, is interesting, though only for the reader with good basic knowledge of their background (the editors' notes don't quite suffice).

Cicero's style is easy to read. Without necessarily wanting to reach for the multiple tomes of the complete Loeb edition, you may consider browsing for a meatier sample of Cicero's political writings, perhaps the Oxford Classics, and a separate selection of the treatises and letters.
33 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
Cicero was one of the greatest of Roman orators and one of the joys of reading him should be to bask in his superb writing style and use of language. For non Latin readers like me that will of course depend on the skill of the translator. I bet Michael Grant did a fine job but I did not much enjoy reading this translation even though I have long wanted to read two of the chapters: Cicero's spectacular prosecution of the corrupt ex-governor Verres and the famous Phillipic Against {Mark} Anthony. I got no tingling sensation. There is a chapter here including selected letters but there's a whole book of them published by Oxford World Classics and translated by P.G. Walsh which I enjoyed far more and which I found to be far more vibrant. The one chapter here that I enjoyed very much was the essay "On Old Age", a fictional conversation between Cato and friends inquiring of him what it is like to be old. This is very very good.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
A reminder that people's basic character remains unchanged through the ages. Racey translation which remains true to the spirit of the text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
What a fabulous read this is. Anybody wishing to get an idea of Ancient Roman justice in practice should read this. Cicero orates beautifullySelected Works (Classics) if the translations are accurate, in an easy, florid style that has the reader immersed, desperately angry one moment and in stitches the next. 'In Defence of Sextus Roscius' kept me glued. I could wax lyrical for an age if I had the talent! Buy this and enjoy! I followed on reading Cicero's 'Selected Works'
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Important reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Difficult to rate this work, Cicero is one is of fundamental thinkers of the ancient world, though not as such a philosopher. With a tendency to the verbose it can sometimes be difficult to pick out the thread of his arguments. In contrast to reading say, Plato. Nevertheless, his infulence on what we call modern thinking cannot be underestimated. An essential read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Good translation with comments keeping the gist of ciceronian spirit and yet accesable to the present day reader. Book physical form does not give justice to its content also it would be so good to retain some of the Latin text to give reader with some Latin knowledge better insight into ciceronian mind!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
hroughly enjoyed this book work,my first dip into this and other Roman historical journals. Can be for a newcomer to this a little dry in places but well worth the effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse