Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2014
Well done. A very good read. Dickens never fails to disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Great to see the book as it was intended to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Love this book. I was put off Dickens at school, but this is a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Good Points- I enjoyed the beginning of the novel. There are a number of twists in the plot. Although some of the twists are fairly predictable

Bad points -Some parts were slow and longwinded. I found myself skimming though certain chapters which dragged on.

Overall: A fairly good and worthwhile read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2008
This is not just a book, it's more of a whole of life experience. You will have to prepare yourself for the long haul and almost breathe your way through Mr Copperfield's life. But it is worth it because it is quite a life story and you will get to know and like or even dislike quite a few people along the way. I read it because I had enjoyed Oliver Twist and Great Expectations and love to understand and appreciate the simplicities and difficulties of the Victorian way of life and the great characters Dickens always invents.... and to be sure, he didn't let me down with this one either.

It's a long read and not for the faint hearted in any way. Some passages are long and by todays standards very cumbersome and long winded but if you like a good story, great characters and fancy a step out of the digital age for a while then this is for you.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was Dickens' own personal favourite of all his novels, and here we are presented it with an active table of contents. There is no doubt that this is a great novel and has been admired by Tolstoy and Woolf amongst many authors who have enjoyed it or have been given inspiration due to it. Of all Dickens' novels this is also his most autobiographical.

The story although long is simple in itself, it is the tale of David Copperfield from his birth through to his maturity, what obstacles he faces in life and what friends he makes. With a whole host of great characters there is nothing to dislike with this tale, and in the case of Betsy Trotwood, were inspired by real people. Betsy was based on Mary Strong who lived at Broadstairs and really did chase the boys and their donkeys off her lawn, resulting in legal proceedings being initiated. Other characters and events were based on real happenings.

If you like to read for pleasure and want to immerse yourself in something that is really great then you can't really go wrong with this book.
44 Comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Amazon's evaluation of 4 stars as `I like it' is totally inappropriate. I have a quibble with this edition.

I am aware that many spellings that we identify as `American' are actually Victorian. Within the first quarter of this book (note: this edition) I have come across color, labor, parlor, candor and honor. Not to mention connexion and ... (wait for it) `controuled'(where on earth did anyone get that from?). I have already read `Bleak House' in this series and did not notice similar spelling variations.
Has Dickens been modified in other editions for modern English tastes or in this edition for the American?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
David Copperfield was devilishly fun to read (or listen to - I got the audiobook by David Vance, but I also downloaded a free kindle version). I don't know if Dickens's writing style is so delicious because all nineteenth century writers wrote like that, or because of his wit - probably a combination of both. Plain English is all well and good, but there's a satisfaction to be gained from deciphering a long and winding sentence.

It was a delight to discover if you want to improve your vocabulary and knowledge of Victorian England, this is the most entertaining way to do it. Vocabulary wise: I learned so many words (whereas in the past you had to lose momentum to look up a word in a dictionary, Kindle's dictionary made this so much quicker). Victorian England wise: I learned that lots of people died young back then, there were widows and widowers all over the shop, people walked bloody everywhere and for miles. And of course there are the things everyone talks about that need no further comment: skilful plotting and incredible characters (Betsey Trotwood and Mr Dick being my favourites). And I loved realising midway through that this story was probably somewhat autobiographical.

I felt the Yarmouth/Emily storyline was a bit weaker than the others, but good nonetheless. Also, Copperfield bumps into old acquaintances a bit too frequently to be believable, but hey ho this is fiction. I thoroughly recommend Vance's audiobook, too. It can't have been easy with all those characters who each needed their own distinct voice, but he did a stellar job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
A very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
This is an abridged version. It does not clearly state so on the cover. Irritating waste of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse