Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 8 February 2018
Do not but this paperback edition : it is nothing else than an internet scam!
Although you cannot see that on a your computer screen , the front cover image is a low resolution image printed on glossy paper.
Unless you look it from 10 meters away, (or have really poor eyesight) it does look highly pixellized.
Furthermore, print are small using an ugly font, using cheapest paper available on the market.
On top of that you have no notes or any kind preface that you would expect for such a classical masterpiece of English literature.
You might as well get a free copy form the web and print it yourself on a 100$ ink printer, you will get a better result....
Keep away from this edition!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2012
This Play never palls. Oscar Wilde's witty and amusing dialogue remains a perennial delight and it is a play which can be listened to over and over again with enjoyment.

This particular recording features a strong cast, with Jeremy Clyde, Richard Pasco and Prunella Scales taking the main parts.

It is also the first broadcast of the original four-act version of the play. The extra dialogue is not often met with in most modern productions.

It is ideal for listening to while doing a long, boring job, (such as the ironing!). And I am sure it will give equal pleasure, whether the listener is already familiar with the play, or whether it comes as an entirely new experience.

It remains a tragedy that the author of such a delicious light comedy should have met with such a disastrous fall from grace.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2010
Short, sweet, beautifully written and full of punchlines that stick into the mind, Oscar Wilde's greatest work is a living example of quality, rather than quantity. 65-odd pages are all Wilde needs to ensnare and capture a reader into the upper class society of his day and all of their ludicrous mannerisms. There are hints of Wilde himself aplenty in Algernon and his dashing flamboyancy.

The play follows a standard three act structure, and can be read casually easily in one sitting. I can imagine, and indeed would love to have the opportunity to perform what would be an exceptionally enjoyable play to rehearse.

It is not overly long, it is not overly pretentious and the language is beautiful. It knocks some of Shakespeare's overblown works for six and then some. This should be standard order for every classroom in the country. Wilde is a great, and is simply not revered enough.

The cheap Penguin edition is for my needs perfect. Clearly set out, nice handy size, good typeface and a brilliant £2 price tag. It's worth £2 of anyone's money. And I also like having the opportunity to have Wilde's plays in individual editions, rather than the bulky anthologies.

Concrete 5 stars, please read it, you certainly won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2010
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
Yes, this is Oscar Wilde's deliciously camp, ferociously witty comedy of errors & incisive observations on the social mores of the day. This presentation of the 1977 radio play offers pristine sound, excellent production values, & has a star-studded British cast, headed by Maurice Denham & the marvellous National Treasure that is Prunella Scales. I placed it on the CD tray & lay back on the bed, box of chocolates & glass of wine resting on the bedside table, & enjoyed every second of its 140 minutes' playing time (over 2 CDs). It's amazing to realise that this play was first performed in 1895, & that this particular broadcast is now 33 years old as it still sounds as vibrant, fresh, funny, perceptive & relevant today. Excellent entertainment, & these CDs can be played over again as there is such a richness to the writing & this production. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2016
I remember reading this play when I was in year 8 in secondary school. A great play, amusing and pathetic in places, but yet another timeless classic.

My father is in hospital and I go everyday by car to visit him in London. This made a great change from listening to music. Would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
A tad disappointed. Bought this to accompany my revision for my A-Level in English Literature as the text was not available from the college library. Quite a few paragraphs in the play stop halfway through, leaving me without page references for my work. Thankfully, I have the quotes down already so it isn't too much hassle, although I am concerned that other copies of the product may be faulty like mine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
Oddly enough, text is missing from the pages so my wife is having to write them in. Not great... but manageable for rehearsing the play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2018
I bought the book after watching the film of An Ideal Husband with Rupert Everett because I was unimpressed. I read the play, which differed from the film, and I was impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
Had to read this for one of my uni modules and I was really surprised! I thought that it would be hard to grasp but it's really easy to understand. It's also hilarious - quite a few puns - and a great narrative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2016
Oscar Wilde is just great - there are no words to describe him. I am an actress and this book has been really useful as many of his plays have great monologues to work on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)