Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
105
4.2 out of 5 stars
The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches (Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 December 2016
It is supposed to be a classic, but I found it thoroughly boring - it is as well the Darwin was a scientist, he would never have made a living as a novelist. A friend who was a navigator found it fascinating for the navigational detail. I suppose that a biologist would fing that side of it interesting, but without a particular angle, I found it dry as dust. We were supposed to be reading as part of oiur boolclub, but I think that it would take me so long to read it that we would be on another book or two before I finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
This book revealed Darwin to be a fascinating person, who was himself intrigued by all he found on this lengthy voyage. He was evidently very fit and prepared to undergo some deprivations to explore many of the lands he visited. The way he records his thoughts and observations are quite readable and generally comprehensible to the layman; we learnt a lot and were also entertained. Incidentally, the book is about the places visited and almost nothing about the voyage itself.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
This is a note about the Mobilereference edition of Darwin's Voyage of the Beagle. It goes without saying that the book itself is one of the greatest books of travel that you could possibly read. The mobilereference edition of the book is just what I hoped books would be like on Kindle. There are books out there, as Kindle owners will know, that are badly formatted and almost impossible to find your way around. This is not one of them. Not only are you able to go directly to any chapter from the table of contents but there is also a fully useable index that allows you to look up references to people, places and other subject matter and go from that directly to the page concerned. If I had a quibble it would be that the illustrations do not seem to be indexed but that is a small matter and I would recommend this edition wholeheartedly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
A fascinating account, deliberately edited by the writer, to be understood by "non-scholars". I have a laymans interest in science and the natural world and thoroughly enjoyed reading this book which takes the reader around the world and not just to the Galapagos Islands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Really informative description by Darwin of his voyage and his growing fascination with evolution. Better than Origin Of Species which is dry and really an academic tome. Be able can be read by the lay person with ease and enjoyment once you get used to the older style of Darwin's writing. Excellent free book.....don't worry about the odd typo and odd addition into text of references......it's FREE...enjoy and be grateful to those who bring this wonderful book to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
I was not expecting this book of Darwin's to be so riveting a read! At points it is positively exciting !! His description of the aftermath of what was clearly a Tsunami following on from an earthquake is delicious to read in the context of what we now know of the phenomena. The young Darwin shows a keen interest not only in natural history and geology but also in the life of the indigenous populations of S. America and seems surprisingly 'modern' in most of his comments. Just a jolly good read as well as a look at the early thinking of the man who was to reshape our world view. If you're an intellectually curious person, willing to venture far afield in your reading, this is a must for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I think this book must have been wonderful to read for people who have never seen anything outside their own world, before tv and documentaries were invented. Maybe because I already saw the documentaries on tv, it didn't appeal that much anymore to me. It is though worth reading, but sometimes when describing the plants and the birds it gets a bit boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
To discover where Darwin's genius really lay a reading of this book is essential. His powers of observation and perception were truly remarkable, as was his sense of wider significance. Although the account is necessarily episodic, he writes well and in terms that need not fox non-scientists. Sidelong references to his captain Robert Fitzroy - no mean scientist himself and the father of modern weather-forcasting - are also intriguing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2000
Remember this says "Journal" and that is what it is. It is his first parson adventures on and off the Beagle. He even includes stories about the people on the ship, the ship's life, and maintenance. He is always going ashore and venturing beyond the ship charter to go where no Englishman has gone before. He makes friends with tyrants and the down trodden. Once, to get an animal to come to him, he lay on his back and waved his arms and legs in the air. Whatever you do, do not turn your back on him. He is always knocking something on the head and taking it back for study. It is fun trying to match the old names for places with the new.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
This is a great book but it does not come out well on Kindle. The page numbers are halfway up the page and it's very difficult to find your way about the book; the only way I could find to do this was to guess where a bit I wanted to read would be as a number between 1 and about 6,000. So unless you want to read it straight through, I suggest going for the traditional book form. It cost nothing to download--but it could be so much better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)