Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2017
Written from the point of view of the liberal Victorian journalist, an excellent insight into the horrific injustices of the Victorian labour market. Both harrowing and fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is an excellent read, although rather heavy reading. It's a book I find to pick up and read a bit at a time, to get the most enjoyment and information from.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
What a fantastic journal.You can open the book anywhere at random and read stories that can break your heart or move you with admiration. Just wonderul!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
A must for anyone interested in the lives of ordinary and very poverty stricken people in the Victorian era. Informative, entertaining and shocking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I bought this as part of my research into my family history. An excellent, informative and enlightening book. Wish I could afford the full version!!!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Worth the money, well worth the time to read. Excellent for the detail, of everyday life in London etc., a must for anyone reasearching those times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Informative and eye opening, this book is a must read for anyone interested in old London and how the ordinary people lived and survived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Have only just managed the first few pages.It looks at everything in depth.Could take a while as there is a lot to take in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Been meaning to buy this for quite a while - just what I expected. Loads of words - totally enthralling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
A very good presentation of what is a substantial work by Henry Mayhew
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)