Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 12 June 2017
This is a very very good book. ten out of ten. Bought it to replace a well read, well thumbed old tattered copy. A story I can read over and over. Good for anybody who enjoys reading about stuff during the war, Product also came on time too. film is good but not as detailed as the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2016
Possibly John thaws greatest role. Live this one off drama. And in blu ray it's just fantastic. If you've never seen this it's a heart warming story of a war time boy evacuee and the stone cold country foster parent (John thaw) and tells the story of the 2 main protagonists how they warm to each other and thaw (excuse the pun) out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2016
Great story. I never see it before. I really enjoy to watched it. But only bit let down by DVD transfer quality so I upgrade to Blu ray version and it looked lot better then DVD.

Both DVD and Blu ray both in full widescreen and not in 4.:3 format. It still look fine in full widescreen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2014
A heart-warming tale of a young boy taken in during the Blitz by a cantankerous old man. Their relationship blossoms and benefits them both, in spite of the nightmare that awaits the lad when his mother takes him back to London. She is mentally ill, but no one is aware of this. The beauty of the story is how it is hard-hitting, yet tender and subtle at the same time. Although it is a feel-good film, with a happy ending, it is never trite or sickly. Instead, the central message of how love overcomes the obstacles put in its way is emphasised by the plausibility of the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2016
Bought this as a little surprise for Mum, as this is the quintessential film regarding some of the worst stories from the WW2 evacuees blended with a happy ending. For me this is a modern film based on some of the hardest times the British people ever faced, there should be more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2010
Truly delightful! Yet another excellent performance from John Thaw as Tom Oakley. In fact the entire cast delivered first class performances pulling you into the lives of a grumpy old man and a delightful little boy evacuated to the countryside.

This drama represents everything that is wonderful about British drama and acting, when we get it right we really do get it right.

The watcher is taken on a journey between the two main characters as the little boy gradually melts Tom's gruff exterior and heart, each filling an empty space within. The little boy has been evacuated from the blitz and even worse horrors at the hands of a mentally disturbed mother.

A wonderful story, excellent acting, one you will want to watch time and time again. I just bought the DVD for my husband, one of the few films he loves and enjoys watching each time it's on TV.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2017
What a lovely, lovely old film. I make no apologies for having to say: "They don't make em like that anymore." The dvd prompted me to buy the book which really is just as good, and I look forward to watching the film again soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2017
love this film John Thaw at his best a fantastic insight into how life was like during the second world war the story is brilliant and so is the acting the costume and location are really good a heartwarming story well recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
Excellent and beautifully acted film. Young Willie, a sad, deprived child, is evacuated from the East End of London to the countryside where he is taken in by cantankerous old Tom. Slowly a strong bond is formed between them, and Tom flourishes in Tom's care. Then Willie is recalled to war torn London, and Tom is feeling a great loss, and wondering what the future holds. I watched this with my young grandchildren and we all loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2016
My fave thing I've ever seen john thaw in, meet Willie beech and evacuee from London, who gets placed in the country with the formidable loner tom Oakley, all with lots of tears and smiles, you'll love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse