Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
I read it many years ago,really enjoying reading it again,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Classic LM Montgomery - nothing more needs saying!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 February 2016
None of the subsequent Anne books have QUITE the same delightful charm as the first one, Anne of Green Gables, but for all that they are lovely books to read and I could not give them less than five stars. In this fourth book, Anne is finally engaged to Gilbert but, for all that, he does not figure much in the book except as the recipient of her letters. Anne is very much the central character as she takes up her post as a school principal and negotiates the many obstacles and encounters of the next three years of her life. LM Montgomery has the knack of feeling affection for her characters, which makes us love them too, even the more unsympathetic of them. She has recurring themes - idealism, the beauty of nature, moral aspirations versus hard reality and emotionally deprived children and others who begin to find happiness and meaning in life. Her love of Canada, especially Prince Edward Island, is very evident; she makes us feel how delightful it is - or was, in that nineteenth century era. She herself grew up there, brought up by grandparents in an emotionally repressive atmosphere and taking refuge in dreams and hopes, very much like Anne and there must be a lot of her in her heroine, except that LM Montgomery never married. Like her other books, it is not so much a sustained story with a strong climax as a series of delightful incidents. A lovely book for children, this is also wonderful for adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2007
I love, or should I say LOVE, the "Anne" series by Lucy Maud Montgomery, but this one is my least favourite. For me, it just lacks the sparkle of all the others.

Anne of Windy Willows (or Windy Poplars, as it was originally published) is the fourth book in the series, the sequel to Anne of the Island, but it was actually written long after book three (1915) in 1936. By this point Lucy Maud had already written Anne's House of Dreams (1917), Rainbow Valley (1919), and Rilla of Ingleside(1921) - books 5, 7 & 8 - and she went back and slotted in this one, and later Anne of Ingleside, to fill in a couple of gaps.

The book does fill a useful gap in Anne's story, but lacks just a little bit of the flow and dreaminess of the other novels, possibly because much of the novel is written in the form of letters to Gilbert. That said, it's lovely to see romance blossoming with Anne & Gilbert. She was never supposed to fall in love with that dapper Roy Gardner, and was engaged to Gilbert at the very end of the previous book. However, Gilbert must be away for his doctor's training for the next three years... so the couple are in for a long engagement...

Anne secures the position of principal at Summerside High School, and in true Anne-style this is not without its difficulties. She finds a lovely place to board and we meet the charismatic "Aunts Kate & Chatty", and hilarious Rebecca Dew. And then there is Anne's relationship with the forlorn little girl, Little Elizabeth, living next door... not to mention Anne's mission to reform and befriend the miserable school teacher Katherine!

It's still a lovely book to read, but as I re-read the Anne series this is the one I'm always least eager to pick up. The Anne books are wonderful stories for all ages from 8+. If you haven't read any before, start with number 1 which is Anne of Green Gables. I can't recommend them enough.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2000
Anne and Gilbert are engaged at long last, but the wedding cannot take place for three years yet, as Gilbert is still attending medical school. Anne spends this time teaching in a place called Windy Willows and chronicles the happenings in regular letters to Gilbert; letters which form the basis of this book. For the first time we get to see life through Anne's eyes and see a new town and new friends just the way she sees them. In this small way, by putting you 'inside her head', this book lets you out a fantasy most of us have had at one time or another -- the wish to be Anne.
Together with her, we discover wonderful new people who quickly make a place for themselves in our hearts. There is the amazing 'hired help', Rebecca Dew and the magical little girl next door, Elizabeth who longs to enter the land of Tomorrow.
Though the community is hostile to an outsider initially, specially the Pringle clan, who is almost royalty, Anne's warm heart and beautiful spirit win them all over in the end.
When she finally leaves for Green Gables to get married, though we are overjoyed that she and Gilbert are to be together at last, we cannot help but feel a pang of nostalgia for the people and places she leaves behind. Places on which she has left her mark .... places which will be always to her, and to us, home.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
This is the fourth book about the girl who was Anne of Green Gables, and it is excellent. We see Anne - grown up now, and in a loving relationship with the boy she had once seen as an enemy, Gilbert Blythe! Much of the story is told by Anne's letters to Gilbert. Anne has been given the post of Principal of Sunnyside High School - but there are problems. One big problem is the Pringle family, who rule Sunnyside - and who make life very difficult for Anne. How Anne turns the tables on them by her own personality - and the help of an old document - is something to be enjoyed! There is the school play - almost wrecked by a Pringle - but saved because Anne had encouraged another girl - there are other interesting characters among the pupils who Anne helps - there is Elizabeth, not a pupil, just a lonely little girl who Anne befriends and invites to Green Gables - there is one of Sunnyside's other teachers, the prickly, almost unapproachable Katherine Brooke, who seems impossible to befriend - but Anne gets past Katherine's defences and ends up transforming her. And there is Windy Willows itself, the old house where Anne boards; kept by interesting, delightful characters who Anne loves! There is so much to this book - much more than I have described! Like all the books about Anne, this is well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
When I had finished Anne of the Island, I immediately went on to read Anne of Windy Willows. At first when I had read the first two or so chapters I didn't like it as much as the other Annes because none of the normal characters were in it. I was left on my bookshelf until I had read the whole of the series and wanteed just another titbit of Anne. So, reluctantly I picked up Anne of Windy Willows and finished it in a few days.
I found after I had got into it that it was a brilliant book and it didn't matter about the other characters. It was one of those books that you could keep rereading and rereading. I highly recommend it to any fan of Anne.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
Anne of Windy Willows: Puffin Classics

A very well thought out book in which we see life through Anne's letters to her lover but with out the sharing of her inner most loing thoughts about Gilbert. The way she writes about life and how visits back home lack something when Gilbert is not there is heart warming. Her genuiness to care for others especially those who cause problems like Katharine Brooke and the Pringles makes this yet another lovely addition to the Anne series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
The third book of the series. Delightful to read a story that does not contain pages of graphic sex, bad language and violence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2008
Having loved the first three books I had high hopes for this and initially was not dissapointed but about half way through the magic seemed to end. The initial story was great but I felt the second part was quite contrived and didn't have the same magic or believabilty as the other books and too many unnecessary characters were introduced although only briefly. I am still looking forward to the next book as Anne is one of fictions most lovable characters.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse