Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2015
One of the traits that makes Wells, at times, beyond comparison to his peers (apart from his vivid imagination) is his ability to convey themes and ideas without resorting to preaching at the reader, or having his characters mouth platitudes straight from the mind of the author.

Thus, The War of the Worlds a tale of alien invasion, is utilised by Wells to convey the evils of colonialism, appropriate given Britain's global reach at the time of writing.

Wells repeats this with The Time Machine turning a voyage of discovery into a critique of capitalist exploitation and the effects it has on those at the bottom, all the more apt, given Wells' links with the early days of the Labour party and his flirtation with the Fabiens.

And thus, The Island of Dr Moreau is no different - what appears to be the tale of a shipwrecked traveller washed upon a mysterious island, is Wells' take on religion - and the absentee God, or the death of God, themes that gained great popularity at the time due to the work of Friedrich Nietzsche and his famous declaration that "God is dead."

Annoyingly, like most of Wells; works, TIODM falls on the short side, Wells a great believer in brevity) but ultimately, is still an interesting and thoughtful book despite this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
I got this on a free kindle download and enjoyed it very much. The only slight issue I had, and have had with a few of the free e-books now, is that here and there some sentences are missing spaces between words. It's not frequent enough to cause much disruption but certainly made me have to stop and re-read certain lines here and there. Had I paid for the book it would be a problem but as a free download, and a low rate of occurrence it's not much of a bother. Otherwise, fun and short read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
This is a very nice little copy of the H G Wells classic. The Island of Dr Moreau may be dated but it is still a very readable and atmospheric story. It builds up an eirie tale, which is perhaps more horrific by its implications than what is actually described. In this way it reminded me a lot of one of H P Lovecrafts stories, a writer who was probably influenced by Well's work. Highly reccomended as an example of the different genres H G Wells was capable of writing in. Science fiction and horror at its most thought provoking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Victorian fin de siecle wasn't exactly short of mad scientists but, even in a crowded and highly competitive field, Doctor Moreau stands out. He is, if you like, the Mad Scientist's Mad Scientist: the deranged genius lesser madmen in laboratories aspired to be. Moreau is Frankenstein, but without the self-awareness that what he is doing transgresses Nature.

Wells's tale, published in 1896, tapped into contemporary fears regarding the gloomier conclusions arising from Darwin's theories of evoultion. Doctor Moreau, a brilliant biologist who believes the pursuit of knowledge is such a worthy aim that feeble debates regarding right and wrong shouldn't be allowed to impede his research, sets up a laboratory on an idylic island and conducts experiments into accelerated evolution. Taking animals and putting them under the knife he attempts to turn them into something closer to human beings. His experiments meet with varying degrees of 'success' but, as the pain-wracked creatures escape and stuggle with their newly acquired human characteristics, the island becomes transformed into a ghastly inversion of Eden - complete, as one memorable episode relates, with its own serpent.

As ever with H G Wells the serious investigations into contemporary concerns are wrapped inside an engaging story. Edward Prendick, the somewhat self-pitying narrator of the tale, finds himself trapped on the island following a shipwreck and the gradual realisation of what Moreau's work entails, and where it is leading, is revealed through his eyes. There is a great deal of adventure and some brilliantly described action sequences, but ultimately, after reading the book, it is the horrifying nature of Moreau's ethically barren scientific research that lingers in the mind. As mad scientists go, Moreau really is up there with the true greats.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
I wasn't really sure what to expect from this book and I haven't read a huge amount of H.G. Wells before. Saying that, I did enjoy it - an interesting read and a bit creepy at times. Basically about a shipwrecked man who comes across a mad scientist, who becomes quite drunk off of his own power over his creations and eventually comes to a sticky end. I can't really compare this to other H.G. Wells works but would recommend to sci-fi fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
The book has a fantastic storyline, it is hard to imagine it is over 120 years old. Despite been a short story the writing style is slow paced and tense, building up through start to finish. Really recommend, and should definitely not skip the "13 other ways of looking at the island of doctor Moreau" before the intro. Interesting stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
I think this is the last book of the Ann of Green Gables series. I understand she actually wrote nine books and I would love to find the others on eBooks.
This book deals with Ann's marriage and I did not think it would be possible to maintain the excitement generated in the previous books. On the whole it bowls along at great pace, although there are times when it becomes a little repetitive, but I was very sad when it came to an end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
gf doesnt like scifi got her this she loved it. classic and its good there you go buy it will entertain you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2016
Wells opens the window into the soul of mankind and exposes the Hobbesian animalistic and brutal mentality with a prescription for our cure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Whilst I enjoyed this book overall I felt in many areas it was a slog to get through as it appeared to focus on technological details of processes, chemical compositions etc in an effort for the author to demonstrate his scientific knowledge rather than developing the story. (Perhaps this was the literary style at the time of writing). As a result I felt that a lot of the suggested technological achievements of the characters whilst on the island felt far fetched and all too convenient that every element that they required be available.

Overall I'd say I'm glad I read the book, but I won't be in a rush to read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse