Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2005
I love this book. What's more, my daughter is loving it too, and she's only 4 1/2! I hadn't considered reading it to her but she's constantly bugging me to get more stories and one day I went "ark! I can't, all gone, no more stories, empty, sold out, sorry, supply dried up, no longer a subscriber!" So I got it out and started to read and she no longer wants to watch Cartoon Network (true! amazing, I never thought I'd get her off TV!). This is the book for everyone with a bit of imagination and a love for words and stories.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2006
Plenty of fun to be had in this tale of a storyteller and his son. Rushdie imagines a world of light and dark, noise and silence, with some memorable characters and places. It's all done with great imagination and no small wit - reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland. Really, it's a children's storybook, but with plenty to keep the adults entertained as well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2005
With Haroun Rusdie is amazing. A book of literature of words meant to excite, entertain, endear and enthuse the reader. A book written for children on the surface, a story which children should be thoroughly entertained by, but also a story that has the capacity to grasp the heart, soul - every fibre of the being of any person of any age and provide a fantastically vibrant read. Definitely read this book, along side the story being amazing it is highly literate, clever and insightful, amusing, plus a whole list of words and descriptions that could go on for a very long time, enough words possibly to fill the ocean....
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2002
Word of warning: This is probably the best childrens' book ever. You will find yourself thrusting it at all comers. It is a fairy story, a cautionary tale and a wish for things to revert to the way theu were when we were children.
If you are fluent in Urdu you will enjot it even more as most of the names and places are puns on common Urdu words.
DO read this. It will transport you and delight you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2003
Haroun and the Sea of Stories truly is one of the greatest books for children ever written.
It contains the most compelling, vivid, descriptive writing I have ever read, and the story and the memory of reading it haunts me still (I must have first read it about 10 years ago when it was first published)
Although it is a childrens book, this is a book not only for children. The magic of the story and its progression will transport even the most jaded of readers to a new understanding and appreciation of . . . well, everything.
This should be compulsory reading for everyone, everywhere
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2000
This book was given to Angus for Christmas 1999 (thank you Jane and Jes).He is seven years old and is compelled to read it every night, either with or without parent. He then describes every item of information at length as it is such an absorbing and fantastic tale to keep any child's imagination alive and well throughout the year 2000 and beyond. A must have. The pictures are entirely faithful to the story, colourful, styalised. I never imagined Salman Rushdie as a children's author. A cross between Lewis Carroll and Roald Dahl. I am just going to order a copies for my nephews.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2003
This story is by far not for children, at least not only and not too young. It is a fable about the whole world in general and the Indian Ocean world in particular and the systematic split of it or them in two hostile camps in a time (1990) when there was not the slightest idea that humanity could get over that division. The Soviet Union was dissolving and the Eastern European block was falling apart and yet the world was still seen as split in two, and 9/11 was going to perpetuate this dual vision with wars against the camp of darkness by and from the camp of light, wars that might have been slowed down only when the side of light came under the authority of a man of color. As Fidel Castro is supposed to have said, Cuba will be recognized by the USA only when the US President will be black and the Pope South American. He is supposed to have cast the dice of this prediction in the 1970s, in Prehistory in other words.

The reason of the discrepancy we could see in the dissolving of the Soviet Union and yet the survival of the dual vision of the world is that it is not based on that macro-political vision but on a direct local political vision, the Indian subcontinent, and also on the general ideology conveyed by two cultures in this sub-continent, Islam first of all and Hinduism secondly. What’s more it is an ideological vision that was reinforced by centuries of colonialism and even more centuries of Indian Ocean slavery trade. We have to note here that Admiral Zheng He from China when he travelled far and wide in the Indian Ocean represented a triple vision with the famous trilingual stone tablet brought to Galle at the beginning of the fifteen century: three languages Chinese, Tamil and Iranian; three religions Buddhism, Hinduism and Islam.

When the Portuguese, then the Dutch, then the English and the French came they all brought the Christian vision that divided the world in two: the Christians versus the others in an undifferentiated whole mixing together “paganism” (what an ugly word), Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam and some more even. We must keep in mind that the Christian Trinity is in fact one and only one with one voice, one spirit, one word, one God, one everything they may think of, on heaven and one hell, which makes two worlds, one heaven of divine light and one hell of permanent night and darkness. There is no duality in Christianity, on the divine side at least, and there is only an artificial trinity unified in one non-dividable God.

The whole story is thus based on dual oppositions starting with the storyteller Rashid Khalifa and his wife. Haroun Khalifa, their son, is very fast made the second half of the father by the mother Soraya Khalifa falling an easy prey of the next door neighbor the clerk Sengupta abandoning his own wife. That will cause the breakdown of the storyteller who will lose his story telling ability. And that will happen when he is engaged in some political campaigning to support one candidate against another. The first meeting goes bad, silent, khattam-shud. The second meeting could have been just as bad if Haroun had not taken over the business of his mute father.

They end up on planet Kahani where the sea of stories is residing and developing. But this planet is cut in two because it is immobile, like our Moon, with one half in constant daylight and the other in constant night, with the wardens of the sea of stories in the daylight half and the enemies of the sea of stories in the night-dark half. This night-dark half is dominated by a certain Khattam-Shud who is double, him and his shadow (that reminds me the famous Genesis: “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.” Genesis 1:1-2), and who imposes the cult of the idol Bezaban, the god without a tongue dedicated to total silence and no speaking. The only possibility of communication they have is some sign language, Abhinaya, the language of gestures borrowed from the classical Indian dance tradition. And it seems it is clandestine, some kind of resistance.

This division is of course representative of the division between Islam (represented in the subcontinent by Pakistan, but also close at hand by Iran and Saudi Arabia) and its Shariah law that admits only one meaning to the Quran and that admits only one systematic behavior that rejects all kinds of pleasures, satisfactions and communication. At the time of this book even television was not exactly favored, except as a tool of propaganda. On the other side it is more an Indian, Hindu vision of the joyful satisfaction of all desires and needs, even the most corporal ones. The book remains discreet about these corporal needs, though Soraya Khalifa and the neighbor Oneeta are quite clear about their needs.

What is interesting is that this division has one stake, the sea of stories, the storytelling practice of the Indian Hindu tradition against the Islamic approach for which there is only one story, the Quran. Of course this is a negation of the old tradition of the Arabian Nights, that is never alluded to as Arabian, but as the one thousand and one tales, hence more in its Iranian heritage. That is the only moment when the dual world this story refers to is slightly warped since the Iranian and Arabian tradition of the one thousand and one nights, nights mind you, is on the side of the storytelling Hindus. Nothing is ever that simple in the world, especially when you consider the author is a Muslim and the famous Sinbad the Sailor story leads Sinbad across one ocean to many countries that are in fact islands in the Indian Ocean and India itself.

But does this story have a meaning?

Of course it does. It means that when you divide the world in two there is a good side and a bad side, a side made of light and a side made of night. But this night side of reality is a fake world because it is only made with congealed frozen darkness and it dissolves into water as soon as you bring some light into it. The side of the night can be easily defeated in the best of all ways: transformed into a world of light by providing it with the light of the sun. That’s definitely the result of the experience of 1989 and subsequent years: the dissolution of the Soviet Empire based on a tall tale about communism and absolute equality among everyone: only one face, only one head, only one haircut, only one style of shoes or ties, only one story be it the little red book of Chairman Mao or the Communist Manifesto of Marx, Engels, Lenin, Stalin and a few other Walter Ulbricht’s, since equality means identical for these limited minds. And that means that what Salman Rushdie was going through at the time, the death penalty edicted by some imams in Iran and Pakistan, could be defeated and these dark forces of intellectual darkness could be brought to light one day and to discovering the sun shines for everyone. That also means that the conflict between India and Pakistan can be thought as limited in time and one day the twilight zone of Kashmir will be opened to full light.

This optimistic ideology is a real pleasure of course, even if it is slightly simpleminded in its vain division of the world into two blocks, two zones, two worlds, one good and one bad. Nothing is ever like that and that simple. We must keep in mind that black holes are made of antimatter but all that we call matter and the cosmos comes from nothing but a big bang in an enormous black hole of anti-matter. Don’t ask me where this anti-matter comes from. No one knows, particularly not those like Stephen Hawking who advocate the Big Bang Theory.

I am sure young children would enjoy the story if it were told to them, teenagers up to 14 might enjoy reading it. But beyond you have to be a lot more mature and adult to appreciate the real stakes behind the décor of the tale.

0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2001
My mother read me this book once when I was ill. The stories descriptions were so vivid that I had no toruble imagining all the sights. Both my mum & my dad loved to read the book to me as they enjoyed it so much themselves. I bought my copy of this book last year and I must have readit a thousand times since then!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 October 2010
This book is an enchanting and profound fairy story in its own right; but it acquires an especial dimension of poignancy when we remember the context in which it was written. Salman Rushdie was in hiding after the Ayatollah Khomeini had issued the fatwa condemning Rushdie to death for having, in The Satanic Verses, played about with the story of the life of Mohammed; and he had called on faithful Muslims to carry out that sentence. In hiding, Salman was separated from his then eleven year old son Zafar and from his wife, the novelist Marianne Wiggins, who found the crisis in which her husband was involved as the result of his story telling such a strain on their relationship that, some time after The Satanic Verses was published, she announced that they were separating. Perhaps Rushdie, like Rashid (Haroun's father), had been so busy telling stories that he never noticed what it was doing to his family life.

Rushdie had defended himself against the fatwa, in part, with an impassioned plea for freedom of thought and speech and for not only the right to, but the value of, the imaginative faculties in literature.

This fairy story, written for Zafar, makes the same case. In it, the fear is expressed (but triumphantly met in this story) that the isolation of Rashid, "the Shah of Blah", would stifle his voice to a croak and disconnect him from the Ocean of Stories; the love is proclaimed which Salman has for the rich and colourful possibilities of story telling; the battle between him and the fundamentalists is shown in terms of the battle between Light and Darkness; the fantasy is that his son Zafar, alias Haroun, may rescue him and reunite him also with his wife Marianne, alias Soraya. It was surely Zafar's wishful fantasy also. Naturally in a story written for his son, it is Haroun and not Rashid who is the central character of the story. The story will delight Zafar; but it is probably only in later years that he would be able to take in the full meaning of the book.

The Ocean of Stories was on the planet Kahani (Indian for "story"), where a battle was fought out between two realms. A piece of machinery had prevented the planet from rotating, so that the sun never shone on the realm of physical and spiritual darkness. It was called Chup (Indian for "quiet"), and was governed by Khattam-Shud (Indian for "done for"), whose long-term objective was to poison the Ocean of Stories, which he has already managed to pollute, but he had not yet managed to plug the Well Spring itself. The realm of light, where the sun shone all the time, was called Gup (meaning "gossip" or "nonsense"). Its people argued about everything, and its army of Pages was rather chaotic until, in order to defend their freedom, they let themselves be organized into Chapters and Volumes: Rushdie believes that a good fight is best fought in print, and the Commander in Chief of the Guppee army is called Kitab (Indian for "book").

What wins the victory of Gup over Chup is a magic trick by which Haroun can wish for the sun to blaze on the dark side of Kahani, so that all the shadowy forces melt away. The trick has wrecked the machinery which has kept the people of Gup in perpetual light; when they repaired it, they came to a much more sensible arrangement and made the planet rotate in such a way that both sides of it had their share of light and darkness, of chatter and of quiet. Haroun had already found that darkness has its own beauty and interest: "'If Guppees and Chupwallas didn't hate each other so,' he thought, 'they might actually find each other pretty interesting. Opposites attract, as they say.'" The symbol of Yin and Yang springs to mind.

The story is full of reflections about freedom (with all its imperfections) and about the nature and importance of fantasy, myth and story-telling, about ecology and multi-culturalism, even about shadows in the Jungian sense. There is a special delight for those readers who recognize or are told the meaning of Indian words which are given as names to most of the characters, and who know about the role of gestures (mudra) made by often green-painted performers in Indian Kathakali dancing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
This is a gem of a book and should be read by all! I must have purchased this over 8 times to give away as gifts and let me say this was not to parents! Rushdie always provides depth and character but this surpasses all - a wonderful, refreshing and absorbing tale - do read it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse