Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
39
Mr Majeika
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 December 2012
After starting to read the Jeremy strong Egyptian pharoah book and being very disappointed it was a pleasure t read this book. Light hearted, fun and really easy going. Would definitely recommend and would buy more in the collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2013
I chose this book because all my friends wrote a report and said it was good and it was very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2016
An old copy of this book, with yellowing pages. It is readable but not as expected!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2012
i bought this recently after trying to think of new books to read to my 5 year old at bedtime- we've read some harry potter's but they are quickly becoming quite dark (too dark for last thing at night for a 5 yr old!!) and knowing he likes magic, remembered this from my childhood. Will definitely be buying more from this series. Lovely book, well written, just enough excitement and humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 March 2012
I am currently volunteering in school and looking for interesting, funny books that will grip children who have just moved away from reading picture books but who are not yet ready for full on novels yet. Mr. Majeika is perfect in this respect. It's not too long. It still has some illustrations, and it is funny. Mr. Majeika is an ex wizard who takes a job as a school teacher because there really isn't that much call for wizards any more in modern life. He finds however, that when he is teaching class 3, that his wizarding skills come in very handy on more than one occasion, especially when he is dealing with the class naughty boy, Hamish Bigmore. A lovely book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2009
We loved Mr Majeika because we think it is suitable for children in Year 4 as it is fun, fascinating, excellent and superdupa!
We particularly found it funny when Hamish scared the lady dentist. It made us all laugh.
It was a good book to read in class, because it is set in school, so we could really imagine what it would be like to be in the story.
We would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read magical stories.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2001
This is the first "proper" book my 6 year old daughter read. She could not put it down and throughly enjoyed it. She is now hooked on Mr Majeika stories and is now on her third. Anything that encourages a child to read is surely worth 5 stars
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2000
My 6 and a half year old boy really enjoyed reading about Mr Majeika's antics in the class room. We both had a giggle about Hamish Bigmore being turned into a frog! A good book for the newly confident reader as there aren't too many difficult words. Fun for parents too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2008
It is sometimes difficult to find books that can both be read aloud to your child and also read (and understood) independently by the child. This book is great for that. It is humorous and imaginative (and pre dates Harry Potter!) and my 6 year old (a good reader) loved it. A good introduction to 'tucking up with a good book'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse