Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2017
Superb, I read this some years ago and have recently bought it again for my mum to read and she found it brilliant too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Very well written, captivating, hard to put it down. So many other reviewers have described the book in detail so I will just add that I found it to be totally superb and highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
Hello Hello hello..this book is far from your dixon of dock green. Fast paced and exciting. I found it difficult to put down and almost turned to a prune finshing it in the bath. You get drawn into the guys lives and the job & what an ending. Don't want to give anything away so get yourself a copy. You wont be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2001
This is one of those books you start and read in one go without interruption. Exactly this is what happened. The descriptions given have enough details for the reader to see what's going on, yet without giving away too much. The romantic image of the criminal is defenitely shattered as both undercover agents work their way through London's criminal scene. I guess that it is a frightening insight for everyone into London's darker sight, but it takes a little bit off the view of the helpless police, fighting against mighty and influential villains. London will never appear the same after you read this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Make no mistake about it, undercover policing (UC) is the most dangerous police-work - anywhere. The men and women who undertake this perilous work inevitably find themselves in situations where they’re cut-off, completely on their own without any kind of communication and where there’s no back-up. Quite simply, they’re the bravest of the brave.

Two such officers - Philip and Martin - have their stories told in this very cleverly cobbled together book by Tony Thompson. Individual tales of UC are recounted and in so doing, criticism is quite properly levelled at the senior officers who make some incredibly stupid decisions - and bringing in Jamaican Yardies in the hope that they might infiltrate British gangs and pass on information to the police, when in fact they run amok and carry out their own appalling crimes - is just one of them.

But when the lives of Philip and Martin are well and truly put on the line during an operation involving a highly dangerous gang of drugs dealers in Birmingham, thanks to some ill-thought out decisions by some very ill-informed senior officers, it makes gripping reading. You may agree with me that the treatment meted out to them thereafter by the authorities was shabby, to say the very least.

I’ve always admired UC operatives; this book was given to me by a friend who told me he thoroughly enjoyed it. He was, by the way, one of the Yard's top UC men - his recommendation speaks for itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2004
Where to begin.... from the moment i picked up this book i was glued and could not put it back down!! Each page told a different story of the lives of these police officers, prepared to put their lives on the line to make our world a safer place. The risks involved in their jobs were paramount and this is clearly reflected in this book. The twists and turns in each individual chapter allow this book to come to a climax ending, where i was on the edge of my seat to see the fate of these two officers! An amazing book, i would recommend this read to anyone!!!!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2007
I loved this book, just fast paced enough to keep you wanting more and just detailed enough to show that these guys really lived the stories that they're telling. I liked the way that the two threads slowly converged to the final climax and thought that Philip and Martin did a great job of entertaining and informing. Well done guys, for the book but mostly for the service that you gave to all of us.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2007
The first page in this book caught my attention immediately. It's written in a manner that takes you straight into the officers heads, and it's hard not to feel the stress, panic and excitement that they feel no matter what side of the thought track you lie on. If you're looking for an over-the-top cops and robbers shoot-em-up don't get this book. However if you want an insight into the realities of how undercover work happens then you have to get this. I loved the fact that some of the roads and locations in London are ones that I know or have heard of, and this is what makes it real.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2001
As a clueless student nearing graduation, my kneejerk response when finishing this book was 'I want to be a police officer!'. following two officers, this book explores the much darker side of undercover police work. fortunately this book does not fall into the trap of being too voyeuristic but a balanced and thoughtful account of both the highs and lows such work entails. The book is thoroughly engaging and should not be picked up unless you have enough spare time to read it cover-to-cover there and then!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
I've read about 30 pages,and I'm hooked!! This book won't disappoint.It's highly informative as well as humorous.Most of all it's so real in it's descriptiveness, you feel as if you're actually there!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)