Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 February 2002
OK, this may not be the most exciting book in the world, and it's hard at first to find your way around, due to the unique Victorian way it's arranged.
But it's worth the effort, as this arrangement means that you can find all sorts of alternatives that a normal A-Z thesaurus wouldn't provide you with. It's very useful, and also just fun. Some of the synonyms it provides seem a little unconnected, but that's half the fun, and if you read through the entire entry for one word, you can end up in a completely different place.
All in all, a great investment for anyone who loves words.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2001
Thesaurus' are by definition not the most exciting books on this planet. Betty Kirkpatrick however, has managed to produce a book that does its job eminently well. The book is very complete and well layed out. This thesaurus ranks up there with any good thesaurus and is a must for anybody who as a part of their work has to write large amounts of text. If you cannot think of the word you want then you will easily find it in this book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
This an excellent copy which I am giving to a friend so we can keep it on hand downstairs when we need it. Many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Wonderful to receive a hard back copy in such good condition and at a minimal price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
This is a beautiful book in its usefulness and appearance (hardback). Whether for everyday use or when writing a masterpiece you will never be short of words if you keep this book handy.

I still don't understand how it works,but I bought it for 1p ,yes one penny, plus very reasonable postage on Amazon. It arrived promptly and in near pristine condition.

I can't imagine how I ever coped without this book , if only for answers to those tough crossword clues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Very good condition. Excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
An essential last resort for words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Very Good condition!
Like new
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
best thesaurus I have used so far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
A bit bigger than my old copy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)