Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Jane Grigson's Vegetable Book
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 April 2013
Good read, and I found a few recipes that will become part of my standard repertoire. The pumpkin and beans recipe was outstanding. Being an older book the profligate use of butter was shocking but I knew it was a "period piece" when I bought it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
I love this - it has interesting bits of info on vegetables and then lots of recipes. Especially if you get a veg delivery really helps for those veggies you are not sure what to do with.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Replacement for my old copy that is now falling apart. Love her writing.
By the way, the Carrot and Orange soup is a family favourite - I don't use frozen orange concentrate (does it still exist?) but the grated rind of one orange and the juice of 1-2 oranges. My son loves it and he normally dislikes carrots.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Bought as a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
good present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
A great information source. not many pictures as it is an old book, but lots of interesting information and recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
No pictures. More like an encyclopaedia of vegetables. Not finding it very useful as an inspiration to try something new which I had hoped.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
A wide ranging book that finds uses for probably every vegetable the cook is likely to use. Well worth referring to. One of my favorite cook books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2006
Jane Grigson was one of the leading cookery writers of her generation with some similarity to the writing talents of the great Elizabeth David, in that her books combine superb writing with impeccable research.

The hardback edition/1991 of Jane Grigson's Vegetable Book is a 618 page alphabetical guide to selecting and cooking vegetables, with everything from artichokes to yams.
Tempting recipes from all over the world bring out the flavour and texture of each vegetable and turn the most modest ingredients into delightful dishes.

This invaluable reference includes an introduction, and appendices, entitled:

* Cutting Up Vegetables
* Steaming and Blanching Vegetables
* Stocks
* Savoury Butters
* Sauces
* Stuffings
* Batters

and finishes with a concise index, an Introduction to the American edition, a glossary and a table of equivalent weights and measures. In between are all the vegetables you can think of, and on pages 322/323 is a copy of 'John Evelyn's Salad Calendar'.

Bearing in mind that this is a book from the early 90s, glossy colour reproduction was not yet the 'in-thing' in cookery writing. Strangely, however, the subtle black and white illustrations, by Yvonne Skargon, at the top of each vegetable section are all that is required in this, a timeless kitchen bookshelf classic.

As 'The Scotsman' declares on the rear cover:

'The best cookbooks stimulate your imagination so that the freshest flavours come across as tempting as if they were on a plate in front of you. This is that kind of book.'

From the vegetable gardener's point of view, this book is an invaluable reference for those days when you just have one or two too many pounds (can you say that these days?!) of eg home-grown tomatoes and the novelty factor has worn off a month ago!
Just refer to the vegetable and find a variety of recipes to inspire a new way of presenting the superfluous veg, e.g. 'Tomato and Mussel Soup', 'Tomato Tart (1) or (2)', 'Tomato Mousse', 'Game with Tomato and Chocolate Sauce' , 'Shaker Tomato Custard' or 'Robin McDouall`s Tomato Ice Cream`!
How about 'Lettuce Soup', 'a good recipe for outside lettuce leaves' or 'Braised Lettuce' if you have 'a glut of firm, well-flavoured cabbage or cos lettuces'?
In addition, check out the pumpkin recipes for what to do with the leftovers at Hallowe'en!

A 'potato' is not just a 'potato'!
In the 24 page chapter entitled 'Potatoes', is a section on 'Potato Varieties and Their Uses', splitting them into Main-Crop All-Rounders, Floury, Mashed, Potato Cakes etc, Baked, Boiled, Irish Stew, Salad and Frying.
There at the top is 'Golden Wonder' - and, I do wonder what did happen to the crisp of the same name?
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Not used it that much but ........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)