Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 14 August 2010
This book is great for anyone interested in improving their Spanish without feeling it's a chore. I really enjoyed the stories - written by well known authors including Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. The parallel text format makes the stories easy to read, without having to look up difficult words in the dictionary. The notes at the back of the book explain some colloquial expressions which is great for anyone interested in the culture of Spanish speaking countries. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2017
Wife found this very helpful, pleased with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2015
No problems thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2015
I bought this 2 years ago hoping to read. Now after 4 years of learning spanish, it is too hard to read. This is an advanced level reading book. Be aware.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2002
For an intermediate to advanced student I found these stories to be very entertaining and enjoyable. A pleasant break from the usual dull writing found in textbooks. The amount of new vocabulary was very high for me but being able to quickly look up the meaning on the opposite side of the page is such a joy. Yes, there are discrepencies in some of the translations, but I found that enriched my understanding by trying to decipher why a figurative rather than literal translation was used. Languages don't always have word for word translations. Understanding this is a part of the richness involved in learning about another culture along with the language.
The pace of working through the book was very slow but equally rewarding for the quality of the literature and the immersion in the language. Not a book for beginners, but intermediate on upwards should definitely consider this book.
0Comment| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2012
I found it easy to move from the Spanish to the English when stuck, but was tempted to do this a bit too much. If you want to read a complete book with help when stuck, it is good. However, sometimes it is good to read to get the gist and other times review to build vocabulary. I must admit, I found it easier to copy Spanish news articles from the websites of Spanish newspapers into Google translate and then print both copies. Google translate will not provide an excellent translation, but it generally helped me make sense of it all. Alternatively, I have a kindle (which I love!) and by purchasing a Spanish-English dictionary, I found I could read Spanish language books, as you only have to hover your cursor, for it to bring up a little dictionary extract. I found this a better alternative, as I only did it when I needed it and my eyes couldn't flow across the pages to cheat! I can see for others that this may break their flow of reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2010
Really good idea for people who want to learn a language IF the translations are accurate!

The first of the 10 stories, translated by the 'author' of the collection is fine, but the second one (which I gave up on) was the translator putting his own creative 'spin' on the words.

I will read the other eight stories and may well update my review - but at present I am seething. I wanted as direct a translation as possible in order to learn how to use sentence structure. Instead, the translator's ego got in the way.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2002
This is an interesting idea for adults with an intermediate knowledge of the Spanish language, who wish to improve vocabulary and work on grammatical structures. Although the stories themselves are not the most exciting ever, the text is clearly presented and can be easily cross-referenced, and as the stories are short, they are digestible. The book comes with a short but interesting introduction about the included Spanish authors and their work, and the purpose of the book. Also included is a notes section detailing finer grammar, history and vocabulary points. The downsides are that the book is over 200 pages long, and filled entirely with words. On a purely aesthetic level, this could be a little daunting. Also, there are one or two discrepancies in the translations. Otherwise the book is enjoyable, and a handy reference text. I have not seen any other fiction books like this, and so it is a good investment, best suited for over 16s.
0Comment| 94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2010
I enjoyed this collection, which is especially helpful as an introduction to some of the 'big names' in modern Spanish American fiction (Fuentes, Allende, Marquez).
The endnotes are sparse but useful, while the introduction provides a helpful background or orientation to themes.
Very useful for intermediate to advanced students, and more interesting (to me, anyway) than 'issues' dominated textbooks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2011
Great product, helping me with my Spanish. As far as service goes, can't question a thing. Product arrived within 2 days and was exactly as described. Happy with my choice!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse