Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
Amongst a plethora of 'Camelot' literature this stands shoulder to shoulder with 'The Dark Side of Camelot'. It manages to represent a three-dimensional Jackie Kennedy, linking up the distinctly different periods of her life. The first book of its kind I've read where it's actually been possible to like Jackie Kennedy. Her iron resolve shines through and shows her as an equal player - not just a vapid, clothes horse victim of her men's power- lust and infidelities. Her interest in power and ability to manipulate are unquestionable. A clever, calculating woman with a good brain and heart. Excellent stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
How Jackie Kennedy managed to rise above and soar through her life experiences is a tribute to her wisdom, strength, curiosity and desire to touch all that she could. The biography is meticulously researched and shines a generous light on the stories of the 20th century. It is not sycophantic nor does it condemn. Bradford's stance over the wealth of information and opinions is balanced and allows the material to speak for itself. I enjoyed reading this book, enjoyed meeting Jackie, and I have a profound respect for her struggles and determination to discover herself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Fascinating stuff telling me loads I didn't know about the President, Ari Onassis and Jackie Kennedy Onassis. Couldn't decide if I like her or not, spoiled rich wannabee or damaged woman? Well written and researched as far as I could ascertain, and I was held the whole way through. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
Quite a good read if somewhat predictable. It is a shame that these sort of books dwell on facts which have been in the public domain for years. The whole point of buying this sort of book is to read something which you were not aware of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Really enjoyed reading all about her life. A very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Brilliant book and a riveting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
realy good reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
Unlike some other reviewers I found this brilliant biography a saga of greed, entitlement and shameless readiness to demand that others give whatever she wanted. Lord Harlech backed off from the possibility of marrying her and commented that it would be like having another child. Her lust for admiration and attention seemed infinite. She loved money and her greed was such that her criterion was that her partner must be one of the super rich.

It is a sad reflection on so many of the public that they are prepared idolise a woman who was famous for being famous. She presented a carefully manufactured image and became furious at any comment that she had not approved. Any books on the Kennedy myth had to be approved by her or she would throw a tantrum. She also loved the sick so called sport of fox hunting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I was very shocked - it seems to me that sex and money was the no. 1 thing on that high class people's list.
And then power and corruption. I could not put the kindle down. And I learn a lot about the politics and in-fights.
I feel sorry for Jackie must of the times - just show that money don't buy love and a happy life.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)