Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
53
Four Iron in the Soul
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 August 2011
thought this book looked very intriguing - the world of golf through a caddies eyes - given that I've always wondered what it must be like, touring with some of the richest sportsmen in the world, and how well the caddies did out of it.

Mr Donegan does a superb job of telling it like it really is - pretty hard going for most caddies - and more interestingly, for the players further down the food chain.

I think the great thing about this book is the way you are swept along with his initial excitement, and are willing Drummond to do well. Once the disillusionment and the slow demise of their relationship kicks in, you can really empathise with the emotions both men are feeling.

In summary, an excellent, entertaining, and eye opening look at the world of golf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2010
This book is for anyone daft enough to want to be a professional golf caddie - One read of this and they will run a mile!!! Seriously though this is a very funny, very well written book that charts Lawrence Donegan's efforts at professional caddying. The characters in the book are epicly humorous and to be honest could describe many characters one comes across in daily life across the board. It is also a fascinating insight into how the best of golfers can have big down periods where ever their caddy's start to think twice about partnering with them. A very funny book that will appeal to all sports fans, not just golf, and makes you want to laugh out loud every chapter.Thoroughly recommneded.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2008
I don't play golf and I hardly ever watch it, but I picked up Lawrence Donegan's book because I have to write speeches for golfers every once in a while, and I was looking for something to give me some inspiration and insight. This was a great choice. I loved reading Donegan, who is wry, self-deprecating and intelligent.

It's a great story about being a caddy, and the ups and downs of Drummond, his professional. Donegan tells some excellent anecdotes and describes the underside of the glamorous world of golf. I felt I learnt something about what it's like to compete in top level sport. I'll certainly be keen to buy more of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2015
As a journalist he should be but this was written with the reader in mind. No overemphasis on scores, golf swing etc. which a lot of golfers may be hoping for but a real feel for what it's like to struggle around on tour.

It's maybe burst my bubble for one of my distant dream jobs a bit as there is zero glamour attached but a nicely put together account
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2014
This is a great insight into how golf used to be in the 90s. Still not quite sure what Ross Drummond gained by having the author on his bag for that season but he did have a measure of success even if he didn't set the golfing world on fire. The book is more a study of the struggling professional and includes a great number of characters in the ranks of caddies trying to scrape a living from the obsessional game they all clearly loved at one time in their careers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2018
Very funny and fascinating account
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2016
A thoroughly enjoyable read. Really funny thoughts and insights and not all strictly golf related. Shows the reality of tour golf for most of the players and indeed caddies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
A wonderful read for any golfer.The caddy never looses faith. What its like on tour for the man with the bag.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2017
A joy to read - an insight into the world of golf. Would recommend to anyone, but especially, obviously, golf fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2018
Real insight to the European tour and working life of a caddy even if it's the worst in tour history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)