Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 18 January 2010
This is an amusing and informative book, providing a well-rounded view of the delights and excesses of the Regency period, which marked such a major transformation of society in England and set the scene for the sustained stability of the Victorian era. The self-confidence, indeed arrogance, of the era comes over strongly, as does the humour with which we may view it from 200 years later. The book is made possible by the enthusiasm with which its upper-class participants felt the need to write letters and diaries, and in consequence the relationships between High Society and the hard and poorly rewarded efforts of the working classes are only present by inference, but Murray provides much material which allow the reader to drawn such conclusions. As one whose education has been light in the area of history, I found this book very enlightening, and a joy to read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2017
Advertised as 'good' condition which is probably stretching the truth! Speedy delivery though. Book itself is a great read - if you are interested in the Regency period you will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
Interesting! I wanted more illustrations, esp portraits, in colour! Fascinating period in history, and Murray does a good job discussing it...enjoy this text!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2015
Lots of facts and anecdotes, but not really what I was looking for
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2013
The book came well packaged and on time.
For a second hand book, it was in pristine condition, and made for a good read!
Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2016
For anyone who is interested in the period, book is a must have. Easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2014
Really enjoyed reading this again. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2014
A lovely book, with lots of information and humorously written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2005
This book is a re-issue under a differnet name of Ms Murray's An Elegant Madness. I was disappointed to find that it was the exact copy of her other noval Elegant Madness but enjoyed it just as much. Ms Murray as a very funny way of explaining things and had me laughing all the way through this book. It is a wonderful insight into the workings of the Regency Society. I loved the pictures that are shown in this book as well. I was surprised to find that a Mistress had a better time than a wife and was cared for more.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2015
Very useful for regency life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)