Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2017
Great book about a great christian Mysthic - Daskalos! Contains a deep wisdom and is a truly christian tale of the life and work of the great Healer. For me it was an inspiration and an opportunity ( alltough I found it later than sooner) to get acquainted with the profound Love and Compassion towards human beings, that Daskalos had. This amazes me most, even more than his miracolous and magical abilities, which he possesed beyond any doubt. I really do recommend this book highly to the spiritual seeker and also to people, which are dealing with the art of healing in any form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
I found this engaging, philosophically challenging informative book a wonderful read and discovery. It uses a real persons life and world to discuss and answer questions about the human experience, such as life and death, God, religion, spirituality and our place and order on this planet. the characters in the book make the magical events captured by the author, written as a writer researching his subject matter, digestible, believable acceptable and very readable. I keep dipping into it if I need a bit of spiritual upliftment and would definitely see it as essential reading for anyone that wants to study and practice healing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2002
This is about a spiritual healer and is an investigation into some of his work and understandings of life. I recommend this book as it offers interesting information about karma, reincarnation, and the relationship between, matter and Spirit.
Also something that I found enlightening is when he talks about elementals, which are thoughts. Rather than thinking our thoughts have no effect on life, it is explained that in fact thoughts are the most powerful thing,they are what construct our emotions and physical surroundings.
Also that thoughts dont just go into nothing but they effect us and always come back around to us, so we are really living in a life we have created to a large extent. It is said that our thoughts opperate on just a finer level of energy, beyond the frequency the eye can detect and so, even though we cant physically see thoughts, they are actually always there and whether we project positive or negative thoughts that is going to effect life.
Really interesting book, quite short.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Sometimes, books i have loved, have had a difficult entrance for me.
for example. Franz Kafkas the castles., i carried with me for years, without being pulled
or away from my stress, so that i easily could come in to the world of the book.
This book gave me an opposite experience. the writer draws me in from the first pages.
and not after 15-20 like Kafka or maybe even Dostojevskij takes longer time.(though once in those books,
they are paradise as well)
The writer and his language and way to pull you in, is amazing. i got more and more intrigued the more i read.
i would like to recommend the book as a great read! i havnt finished it yet though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2000
I was recommended this book by the wife of one of Daskalos's pupils. Having studied various esoteric methods I found this to be a moving, soulful account of Daskalos's work and experiences. Although not allowing the author or the reader precise details of the meditations,methods etc, it gives the reader insight into the nature of the Magus's work.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
This resonates with me far more than Castenada, for example. I'm pretty sure Markides books get more wacky as he goes on but for anyone interested in metaphysics or christian mysticism - which from an academic stand point I am - then this is a classic. Told in a loose and eas style but with enough detail that it does not read as wooley. As with all of these kinds of books, make your own mind up. Only quibble is that a new copy is very expensive for quite a slender book! Bought a replacement copy second hand instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
The Magus of Strovolos I found to be a very interesting book about healing methods at a deep level, given by the Magus himself, Dr Stylianos Atteshlis and narrated ny the author Kyriacos Markides. This is a calibre of healing that takes things to a higher level, so I would recommend this for anyone serious about healing. The book arrived nice and promptly as well, all round efficiency.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
“The Magus of Strovolos”, first published in 1985, is the first in a series of three books about Stylianos Atteshlis, a Greek Cypriot healer, mystic and esotericist. Often known simply as Daskalos (Teacher), he is relatively unknown outside Cyprus. In the books, he is referred to as Spyros Sathi, perhaps in keeping with the anthropological custom of referring to native informants by pseudonym. However, it's pretty obvious that the author, Cyprus-born American professor Kyriacos Markides, isn't an ordinary anthropologist, but rather a spiritual seeker who returned to his native land searching for “esoteric Christianity”. His books are sometimes compared to those of Carlos Castaneda. Markides' works were recommended to me by a friendly esotericist on the web, who said that he is more fun to read than Vladimir Lossky!

Daskalos passed away (or passed on) in 1995, and it seems that his supporters split after the the Teacher's death. A faction around Daskalos' daughter Panayiota calls itself “Researchers of Truth”, while a group around Daskalos' disciple Kostas calls itself “Erevna”. (According to other sources, there were two groups - but with considerable overlap in membership - already during Daskalos' lifetime.) The website of the Researchers of Truth claims that Daskalos broke with Markides before his death and repudiated the American professor's writings, but it's not clear when this happened, or why. Of course, Markides' books can be read with profit even if taken as esoteric fiction.

So far, I've read about two-thirds of the first book. I must say that Daskalos' esoteric Christianity is virtually identical to Theosophy. The main difference is that Daskalos places more emphasis on Jesus Christ, which he sees as the Logos incarnate, and not simply as a divinized man. Daskalos and most of his supporters are members of the Greek Orthodox Church. Their message supposedly comes from Yohannan (John the Evangelist) through channeling. Daskalos also believes that it's possible, under certain conditions, for one man to bear the karma of another and hence “forgive” him, and this was apparently what Jesus did on a cosmic scale. Otherwise, the similarities to Theosophy are so striking that a direct influence cannot be ruled out. Indeed, Daskalos claims that his earthly guru was an Indian stationed on Cyprus (then a British colony) during World War II. Perhaps this mysterious personage was a member of the Adyar society?

Ascended Masters, the White Brotherhood, monads descending into matter and then ascending to godhood, grand cycles of cosmic evolution, reincarnation, karma, chakras, channeling, creation of thought forms, even belief in the Space Brothers…it's all in there. Daskalos has a “perennialist” outlook. He accepts Muslim disciples, carries out magical rituals using Jewish symbolism, and speaks respectfully of Plato and ancient Egypt. He doesn't believe in Nirvana, though, and doesn't call for complete unity with the Divine – the monads should remain separate (perhaps they must remain so). Masters should return to the material world to alleviate suffering and spread the spiritual message (the Bodhisattva ideal). The main activity of Daskalos and his supporters is healing through the creation of “elementals” (their term for thought forms). Apparently, Daskalos was known in Cyprus mostly for his these miraculous healing abilities. Astral travel (“exomatosis”) is another important technique used by this group. Are we to believe Markides, the Orthodox Church have attempted to excommunicate Daskalos, while many superstitious Cypriots view him as possessed by the Devil!

“The Magus of Strovolos” is filled with fanciful stories, which often sound like tall tales. Daskalos comes across as a friendly, talkative, funny and mostly harmless village crank, with a somewhat lively imagination. He was of course personally present every time something dramatic happened in Cypriot history: the guerilla struggle against Britain, the Greek-Turkish communal violence, etc. He claims to have been on a first name basis with Makarios, the Orthodox Archbishop of Cyprus who later became the island nation's president. Indeed, Daskalos claims that it was Makarios who stopped the excommunication procedures against him. Of course, he also knew the British governor-general and the main Turkish official on the island. At one point, Daskalos implies that Bertrand Russell recognized him as a spiritual master! Naturally, the old man remembers all his previous incarnations, and those of his disciples, in some detail...

I admit that I didn't buy all of this (admittedly entertaining) stuff, and it would be interesting to know whether Stylianos Atteshlis really said all those things, or whether the author embellished them. That being said, “The Magus of Strovolos” is actually a pretty good introduction to the Theosophical worldview. If it tells us something about the mystical inner core of Eastern Christianity is, perhaps, another question entirely. But yes, it *is* a more fun read than Vladimir Lossky…
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
A fascinating insight into the world of Greek Orthodox theology and its sssociated mysticism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2017
Should be read by very many people to open their eyes to other realities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)