Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I found this book an extremely good read, makes you feel very lucky that you were not born a Russian during the Stalin era. It will make you think and if you are interested in the Gulags it will most definately hit the spot. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
This book was an excellent read giving a very clear, realistic picture of life in the camps. The short story format made it an easier, more accessible read than some other literature of this era, but nothing was sacrificed in quality - the simple telling of each story is beautifully and masterfully done. I'm a great fan of Solzhenitsyn and found Shalamov's style, although different, just as enjoyable. As someone who has read extensively about this era - both factual books and fact-based fiction - I can't recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
A sad and heart wrenching testament of life in labour camps.
Shalamov had was very resilient and talented man.

Absolutely beautifully written, such a shame it is not fiction
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
Dark, disturbing and true.
Its a subject I find very interesting and anyone who wants to know about the GULAG should read this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2008
if the guys from "waiting for godot" read this, they'd crack open the champagne...life is good!...but the poor souls who have suffered in the camps of kolyma...i can bearly get my head around it.
i used to reach for my budhist book when i started cracking up with the pressures of life, now i'll reach for this book, and reassure myself, for a "zek", my life is marvelous. this isa read which will humble all your worries, in a good way.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Only a few chapters in but already thinking 'how could anyone live through 17 years of this' you can almost feel the bitter cold and hunger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
This book is a great insight of what the human soul can be, in the good and in the (very) bad. I am very pleased I read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
A classic if not "the" classic about the Gulag. Should be a school textbook. Everybody should read this and weep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Tells in detail the true horror of the Gulag by one of its prisoners. Much darker than Solzenhitzyn's Gulag Archipelego.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Stark but gripping; we must not forget mans inhumanity to man. Kolyma tales is worth any spare time you have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse