Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2017
Saw this lady on the tv in interview, and it made me curious. So, got the book, and bloody loved it...quite wordy, but oh, the words....Try it. and then the next 2....a wonderful trio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
She is a master writer who manages to surprise and inform with every sentence. Never dull or mediocre. A gifted author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
A real page turner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Has the rare distinction of being the book that I would recommend without hesitation to anyone of any taste in literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
This book kept me enthralled and scared the wits out of me, but I loved it. I love all Donna Tartt's books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
I loved the characters and language on this book. Surely a film just waiting to be made? Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
A very absorbing book. It pulls you in with an original storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Simply superb. A dark, utterly convincing story of lost innocence, friendship, and the terrible experience of guilt. I envy anyone who has not read this. Unlike so many novels praised for the quality of the writing, the writing here is so good you don't notice it, you don't see the joins, it carries you with it like a fast-flowing river. Scenes and characters from The Secret History stay with you forever. It is not a perfect novel: one character is peculiarly under-developed (Camilla), and the narrator's family background is rather glibly dismissed, but as a whole, I would say this is one of very few novels from the last 40 years that will still be read in 50 or 100 years' time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Intense, profound, and amazingly well researched. I wouldn't classify it as crime or thriller , but gripping nevertheless. It's difficult to believe the author was only 20 when she wrote it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here